LibGuides: Business & Economics: Economics

Recommended Resources

Business Source Complete
This is IIT's largest business-subject database. It provides full-text coverage of more than 2,200 scholarly business, management and economics journals. More than 10,150 substantial company profiles from MarketLine are also included, as well as case studies, SWOT analyses, Market research reports.
Wall Street Journal
Access all WSJ content online from the Dow Jones website in the original online layout. Online coverage of the popular business newspaper, including analysis tools and news from the past four years.

Note: Create an account here

Recommended Books

Routledge Dictionary of Economics

Briefly summarizes the major concepts of economics.

The Economic Naturalist: In Search of Explanations for Everyday Enigmas

An explanation of economic theories using everyday examples. Written with non-econ majors in mind.

Microeconomic Theory: A Concise Course

Graduate-level examination of economic theories.

The Chicago School: How the University of Chicago Assembled the Thinkers Who Revolutionized Economics and Business

Describes how the university shaped the world of economic theory.

Common Wealth: Economics for a Crowded Planet

Discussion by economist Jeffrey Sachs on global solutions for 4 worldwide problems: global warming, overpopulation, poverty, and political obstructions that prevent solutions to the above.

Committee Decisions on Monetary Policy: Evidence from Historical Records of the Federal Open Market Committee

Examines the Federal Open Market Committee's actions during the tenure of chairs Arthur Burns and Alan Greenspan.

Common Sense Economics: What Everyone Should Know About Wealth and Prosperity

Uprising: Will Emerging Markets Shape or Shake the World Economy

Discusses emerging markets like China, India, Turkey, and other Eastern European countries, and their place in future economies,

Websites

FreeLunch.com
A database of free economic data, such as income and earnings, GDP, labor markets, etc.
National Bureau of Economic Resources
A collection of publications from a private organization. Includes a searchable database of working papers.
Resources for Economists on the Internet
A collection of links to encyclopedias, dictionaries, organizations and more. Published bythe American Economic Association.