General Resource Websites
- The Fuld Internet Intelligence Index
Contains a list of links to general, industry and international information resources. - The Library of Congress' Company Research page
Has links to many different books, journals and websites. - NAICS Code search
The North American Industry Classification System is the standard used by the U.S. government to collect statistics on different industries. Use the NAICS code to perform industry reserach.
Small Business Websites
- Small Business Administration
Has a tool section with some free online information. - Thompson/Gale Company Histories (by Company Name)
Provides brief company summaries. Last updated in the early 2000's. - Thompson/Gale Company Histories (by Industry)
Provides brief company summaries. Last updated in the early 2000's.
Industry Research Websites
- Economic Census of 2002
Provides many industry statistics and incudes research guides and a search tool. - Thompson/Gale Encyclopedia of American Industries
Provides industry information. Last updated in the early 2000's.In order by SIC. - Yahoo! Industry Profiles and News
A good source of information from Yahoo and Reuters.
International Business Websites
- BRINT
A meta-site for global news and resources. - EuroPages
A European business directory. - globalEDGE from Michigan State University
A collection of links for international business topics. - OECD
The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development lists information by topic and country. - The World Bank:
Economics and trade reports by country.
Company & Industry Electronic Resources
The following is a list of all electronic resources useful for searching for company or industry information. Click here for a list of all business-related electronic resources. (Access to electronic resources listed is limited to IIT students, faculty and staff.)
- Datamonitor Company Profiles
Thousands of national and international company profiles have been created by DataMonitor. Reports include an overview, employee biographies and competitor information. - Business & Company Resource Center (Gale)
A great database for starting business research. Find detailed public company profiles (including parent/sibling relationships), industry rankings, investment reports, industry statistics, and financial ratios. Find thousands of articles covering current and historical business news. Search by company name, ticker symbol, industry, or keyword. Information about private and international companies is also available. Use the BCRC for career research. - Mergent Online

Provides info on U.S. and international companies; daily updates from NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq exchanges; industry and executive biographies. - Company Profiles and Dossiers from LexisNexus View detailed company information and news reports through this search interface. You can also create a list of companies within a specific field and/or geographic location. Includes data from Hoovers, Nelson, and Standard & Poor's.
- SEC Filings from LexisNexis
Quickly find all recent forms filed with the Securities and Exchange commission. - EDGAR (this is a free government resource)
EDGAR is the U.S. repository for public companies required to file forms with the SEC. The 10-K forms in this database will contain information about the company's progress and its future plans. Searchable by company name or ticker number. - Business Insights
Business Insights works in association with leading industry experts, to produce a range of market reports across a wide range of industry sectors. - Business Source Premier
Full text for more than 2,300 journals, including more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Print resources
Ward’s Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
Call Number: REF.HG4057.A575
ISBN/ISSN: 0787658855
Basic information for U.S. companies and industries.
Hoover’s Handbook of American Business
Call Number: REF.HG4057.A28617
ISBN/ISSN: 1573110647
Overviews on largest U.S. companies.
Standard & Poor’s 500 Guide
Call Number: REF.HG4057.A4758
ISBN/ISSN: 0071479066
Guide to the companies that make up the S7P 500 index of securities.
LaSalle Banks Guide
Call Number: REF.HG4058.C5F57
ISBN/ISSN: 0912519258
Major Publicly Held Corporations and Financial Institutions Headquartered in Illinois: lists top companies in Illinois.
Thomas Register of American Manufacturers
Call Number: REF.T12.T6
ISBN/ISSN: 9994077295
Lists information on which companies serve as product manufacturers, distributors or service providers.
Questions?
Contact the Galvin Business Librarian:
Christine McClure
(312) 567-3374
cmcclur1@iit.edu
Use Instant Message! You can ask Galvin staff basic research questions from home or work. Use the handy widget on this page.
Available whenever the library is open (Library hours).
---
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait