Whether you're struggling with challenging material, diving into research, or exploring new topics, finding reliable information is essential. Illinois Tech's Paul V. Galvin Library provides trusted resources and expert guidance to help you succeed.
While many resources are licensed only for use by Illinois Tech students, faculty, and staff, the library supports lifelong learning by providing alumni and the public with some collections and services. the following sections overview key resources, linking to detailed guides for each area to help you find the information you need.
The library's physical and digital book collections provide comprehensive coverage, historical background, and in-depth analysis—perfect for understanding key concepts in your field. Illinois Tech offers extensive ebook collections alongside print volumes, all accessible on campus and remotely. If we don't have what you need, you can search and request materials from other Illinois university libraries using iShare.
Peer-reviewed articles offer current research, detailed studies, and expert analysis across academic disciplines. These sources are essential for accessing the latest developments and original data. If an article isn't in our subscriptions, you can request it using our free Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service..
Videos, audio recordings, documentaries, and other multimedia resources can provide unique perspectives and engaging ways to explore your research topics. The library provides access to streaming media collections and physical audiovisual materials.'
Use Illinois Tech’s Library Search, which provides one integrated interface where you can find books, articles, media, and more from all the library’s collections. Learning to use its advanced search options and filters will save you time and improve your results. If you don’t find the books you need at Illinois Tech, you can also borrow titles from partner academic libraries via the I-Share consortium, greatly extending your reach.
Research databases provide access to scholarly articles, industry reports, statistics, technical standards, and other materials not found in general search engines. Browse Illinois Tech's A-Z database directory and filter by subject to quickly locate the best tools for your research. These databases include powerful search features and filters to help you easily find the most relevant sources.
Google and Google Scholar offer broad access to websites and scholarly material but have limitations in their filtering methods and relevance ranking algorithms. Learning more advanced search strategies can help you work around some of these limitations for better results. AI-powered research mapping tools go beyond keywords by visualizing connections and trends to deepen topic exploration, but work best once you've already found a few relevant sources.
University Archives & Special Collections houses manuscripts, photographs, and institutional records that offer unique insights for historical, local, or event-focused research. The institutional repository contains faculty publications, student theses, and other scholarly works produced at Illinois Tech.
As a Federal Depository Library,Galvin Library provides free public access to U.S. government publications including laws, regulations, technical reports, and maps. This collection covers fields like advanced manufacturing, aerospace engineering, and public administration, offering reliable resources from federal and state government sources.
Galvin Library supports lifelong learning and believes everyone deserves access to trustworthy information. Whether you're an alumnus, independent researcher, or simply exploring a topic of interest, you have access to library vetted materials and expert services, many available online so you can continue learning from anywhere.
This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
