LibGuides: SAM 504: Industrial Ecology and the Circular Economy: Key Resources

Article Search

ProQuest SciTech Collection
This huge database is "the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more."
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Academic Search Complete
Contains more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, the majority being peer-reviewed journals. It also provides an index to additional journals, books, reports, and conference proceedings. It covers a wide range of topics and is a good place to start researching a topic.
Business Source Complete
This is IIT's largest business-subject database. It provides full-text coverage of more than 2,200 scholarly business, management and economics journals. More than 10,150 substantial company profiles from MarketLine are also included, as well as case studies, SWOT analyses, Market research reports.

A-Z Database List
View the complete list of databases the library provides access to.
If you filter by subject area, you'll be able to see our librarians' recommended places to start searching for that subject.

Industry codes are a way to help classify industries into categories to group similar firms and companies together. Using an industry code to search will help ensure that you are actually looking at companies that are in similar lines of business.

There are several industry code systems, but the one that is most likely to be useful to you is the North American Industry Classification System, or NAICS.

NAICS Code Search
Provided by the U.S. Census Bureau, you can use this site to search using a specific code, or use the "Reference Files" tab to browse the full list of NAICS codes by sector.

When searching using an industry code, the more digits you use, the more specific your search will be. We recommend starting your search with only 4-5 of the numbers.

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect not only provides company facts, it also gives access to industry analysis via their First Research tool. To access this, scrolls down from the homepage to the icons under the search bar and click on the one titled, "First Research". You will need create an account by entering your email address the first time you access this resource.
Business Source Complete
This is IIT's largest business-subject database. It provides full-text coverage of more than 2,200 scholarly business, management and economics journals. More than 10,150 substantial company profiles from MarketLine are also included, as well as case studies, SWOT analyses, Market research reports.

Illinois Tech Library Search

The easiest way to search for materials is by using the Illinois Tech Library Search.

Illinois Tech Library Search
Find hundreds of thousands of books, articles, journals, and more, available through our databases and digital and physical collections.

Check out our Library Search User Guide below for more information about performing basic and advanced searches using this tool.

Library Search User Guide
This guide will explain how to access your library account, find course reserves, and perform basic and advanced searches using the library search tool.

Interlibrary Loan

MyILL
Request physical articles or parts of print books and journals for electronic delivery.
Using Interlibrary Loan
This guide walks you step-by-step through the interlibrary loan request process.

Screenshot of the library homepage with the library search in the middle highlighted

Enter your search terms into the Illinois Tech Library Search

Located in the middle of the library homepage, you can use this search to find known items like required readings and textbooks, or use keywords to find new articles and books.

Screenshot of a search result in the library catalog

Browse your search results

To look at a particular result, click on the title.

Screenshot of an item record with the section

Access online items directly

When an item is available online, a list of options will appear under the "View Online" section of the record. Select one of these to access that item. You may be prompted to login with your Illinois Tech credentials before you can view the item.

View where physical items are located in the library

Use the call number and location listed in the record to find the book on the shelves, or ask at a library help desk for assistance.

Screenshot of an item record that is unavailable with the interlibrary loan link highlighted

Request unavaiable items using Galvin Library Interlibrary Loan

Use the link in the catalog, which will automatically populate the request fields, or place a request directly in MyILL using the steps listed on the Interlibrary Loan page of our guide to checking things out.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a popular way to search for scholarly articles, reports, books, and more. Make sure to connect your Google Scholar account directly to your library account to streamline your access to articles.

Search directly below, or click the link to search in the Google Scholar interface.

Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar to search for academic articles in a variety of disciplines. Make sure to link your Google Scholar to your IIT account in order to see when you have immediate access.

Screenshot of Google Scholar homepage with arrow pointing to the button to open the right side menu

Open the sidebar menu by clicking on the three lines in the upper left corner

Screenshot with arrow indicating where to find the

Click on "Settings" from the right sidebar menu

Screenshot of Google Scholar indicating where to find the link to

Navigate to your "Library Links" page

Select "Library Links" from the right sidebar menu, and search "Illinois Institute of Technology" in the search bar in the middle of the page.

Screenshot of Google Scholar showing the appropriate boxes checked

Add Illinois Tech's library links

Check the boxes next to "Illinois Institute of Technology - Find Full Text -> IIT" and "ILLINOIS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY - MAIN CAMPUS - ProQuest Fulltext" and hit "Save"

Search for articles

Now when you search for articles, you should see "Find Full Text -> IIT" to the right of some of your results. Click on it to be redirected to the Illinois Tech catalog to access the article.