LibGuides: Mechanical Engineering: Getting Started

Welcome

This guide will help you find reliable resources for your research assignments for Mechanical Engineering. Use the recommended resources below or navigate this guide using the tabs at the left to find more specific resources or get additional information.

Recommended Resources

These are some of the most relevant and widely used resources for Mechanical Engineering.

DTIC Online: Public Technical Reports
DTIC Online: Public Technical Reports is a database maintained by the Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) that provides access to unclassified and publicly releasable technical reports produced by or for the U.S. Department of Defense. This resource offers researchers, scientists, and the general public free access to a vast collection of scientific and technical information covering various defense-related topics, including engineering, computer science, and military operations.

For more than 60 years DTIC has provided the warfighter and researchers, scientists, engineers, laboratories, and universities timely access to over 2 million publications covering over 250 subject areas. Our mission supports the nation's warfighter.
DTIC is a DoD Field Activity within the Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition, Technology and Logistics (AT&L), reporting to the Director, Defense Research & Engineering (DDR&E).
Publicly Accessible Information All visitors can search DTIC's publicly accessible collections and read or download scientific and technical information, using DTIC Online service. DTIC also makes available sensitive and classified information to eligible users who register for DTIC services.
NASA STI Repository (NTRS)
The NASA Scientific and Technical Information (STI) Repository is provides access to NASA's vast collection of scientific and technical documents. It includes research reports, conference papers, journal articles, and other technical publications covering various aspects of aeronautics, space exploration, and related scientific fields.
ProQuest SciTech Collection
ProQuest SciTech Collection provides access to scientific and technical literature across various disciplines. It offers full-text articles, abstracts, and citations from journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports in fields such as engineering, computer science, physics, and environmental science.

The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Web of Science