LibGuides: Mechanical Engineering: Research Papers &amp; Journal Articles

Finding Research Papers and Journal Articles in Mechanical Engineering

This is a more complete listing of research databases for finding research papers and journal articles. It includes both restricted access subscription databases that are only available to current Illinois Tech students, faculty, and staff as well as some of the best and highest quality free public databases.

Alphabetical Listing

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database offering full-text access to thousands of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, and other publications across a wide range of academic disciplines, including social science, humanities, computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, and more. A good place to begin researching a topic.
BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine
Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE) is a multidisciplinary academic search engine operated by Bielefeld University Library in Germany. It aggregates and indexes metadata from a vast number of institutional repositories and other academic sources worldwide, providing researchers with access to millions of open access documents across various disciplines.
Contrails
An online repository of technical reports and documents covering the history of the first century of powered human flight, including the space race in the 1950s and '60s.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a database containing millions of doctoral dissertations and master's theses from universities around the world. It provides researchers with access to original scholarly work across numerous disciplines, offering full-text downloads for many recent submissions and abstracts for older works, making it an essential resource for in-depth academic research and literature reviews.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) indexes and provides access to high-quality, peer-reviewed open access journals from around the world. It serves as a valuable resource for researchers, students, and librarians, offering a curated list of journals across various disciplines that adhere to open access principles.
DTIC Online: Public Technical Reports
DTIC Online: Public Technical Reports is a database maintained by the Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) that provides access to unclassified and publicly releasable technical reports produced by or for the U.S. Department of Defense. This resource offers researchers, scientists, and the general public free access to a vast collection of scientific and technical information covering various defense-related topics, including engineering, computer science, and military operations.

For more than 60 years DTIC has provided the warfighter and researchers, scientists, engineers, laboratories, and universities timely access to over 2 million publications covering over 250 subject areas. Our mission supports the nation's warfighter.
DTIC is a DoD Field Activity within the Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition, Technology and Logistics (AT&L), reporting to the Director, Defense Research & Engineering (DDR&E).
Publicly Accessible Information All visitors can search DTIC's publicly accessible collections and read or download scientific and technical information, using DTIC Online service. DTIC also makes available sensitive and classified information to eligible users who register for DTIC services.
Engineering Case Studies Online
Engineering Case Studies Online is a specialized database that provides access to a diverse collection of video and text resources focusing on real-world engineering failures and successes. It offers in-depth analyses of engineering disasters, accidents, and innovative solutions across various disciplines, serving as a valuable learning tool for users to study historical cases and apply lessons learned to future projects.
NASA STI Repository (NTRS)
The NASA Scientific and Technical Information (STI) Repository is provides access to NASA's vast collection of scientific and technical documents. It includes research reports, conference papers, journal articles, and other technical publications covering various aspects of aeronautics, space exploration, and related scientific fields.
NTRL- National Technical Reports Library
The National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) provides access to a vast collection of government-sponsored research reports and technical publications across various scientific and technical fields. Maintained by the U.S. Department of Commerce's National Technical Information Service (NTIS), this comprehensive database is a valuable resource for researchers seeking cutting-edge information on federally funded research and development projects.
OpenDOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories)
The Directory of Open Access Repositories (OpenDOAR) is a global directory of academic open access repositories, providing researchers with a listing of institutional and subject-based repositories that make their content freely available online.
Papers First
Papers First is a bibliographic index that provides access to papers and poster sessions presented at thousands of conferences worldwide, allowing researchers and scholars to search through conference materials and discover the latest research in their fields.
PATENTSCOPE
PATENTSCOPE provides access to millions of patent documents from over 80 national and regional patent offices around the world. A free, publicly accessible database maintained by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), it allows users to search, retrieve, and analyze patent information.
Proceedings Index
Proceedings Index provides access to the full text of papers and presentations from a variety of scientific and academic conferences and symposia. It enables researchers to discover the latest research findings and insights presented at these professional meetings across numerous disciplines.
ProQuest SciTech Collection
ProQuest SciTech Collection provides access to scientific and technical literature across various disciplines. It offers full-text articles, abstracts, and citations from journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports in fields such as engineering, computer science, physics, and environmental science.

The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Repository & Open Science Access Portal (ROSA P) of the National Transportation Library
The Repository & Open Science Access Portal (ROSA P) provides access to a collection of transportation-related research, data, and information resources. Part of the National Transportation Library, it serves as a centralized hub for discovering and accessing open access content that supports research, planning, and decision-making in the transportation sector.
Science.gov
Science.gov provides free public access to over 200 million pages of authoritative selected science information from the U.S. government. It serves as a comprehensive resource for researchers, students, and the general public to discover and access a wide range of scientific and technical information from 17 different federal agencies and departments.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect includes a comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, and reference works across a wide range of scientific, technical, and medical (STM) disciplines. It serves as a leading resource for researchers, students, and professionals to discover, access, and utilize high-quality scholarly content to support their work and studies.
Springer Nature Link (SpringerLink)
Springer Nature Link provides access to a vast collection of scholarly content published by Springer. It includes a diverse range of digital resources, such as journal articles, eBooks, book series, protocols, and reference works, covering a wide spectrum of academic disciplines, particularly in the scientific, technical, and medical fields.
Technical Report Archive And Image Library (TRAIL)
Technical Report Archive And Image Library (TRAIL) provides access to a vast collection of historical technical reports, documents, and images from various U.S. government agencies and research institutions.
unpaywall
Unpaywall is a free, open-source repository that indexes and provides access to millions of open-access scholarly articles and papers from legitimate sources across the web.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary citation indexing database that provides coverage of high-impact scholarly literature across the sciences, technology, engineering, and math. It offers powerful tools for tracking research trends, analyzing citation networks, and evaluating research impact.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library is a large digital library that provides access to millions of journal articles, books, and other scholarly content published by Wiley and its subsidiaries, in a broad range of academic and professional subject areas, including life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering Librarian

Aric Ahrens

Related Subjects

Finding Research Papers and Journal Articles in Mechanical Engineering

Alphabetical Listing