LibGuides: Mechanical Engineering: Data & Properties

Finding Data and Properties in Mechanical Engineering

Various types of data are important in engineering and technical research. This could include experimental or clinical data; observational or environmental data; or material property data. The following is a list of resources useful for finding relevant data and datasets.

Alphabetical Listing

BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine
BASE is one of the world's most extensive search engines of networked academic resources. BASE provides more than 150 million documents from more than 7,000 sources, including Illinois Tech's Institutional Repository. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
MatWeb - Material Property Data
MatWeb is a searchable database of more than 135,000 manufactured materials including physical properties, composition, trade names, manufacturers, and other information.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Free Standard Reference Data (SRD)
NIST produces the Nation’s Standard Reference Data (SRD). These data are assessed by experts and are trustworthy such that people can use the data with confidence and base significant decisions on the data. NIST provides 49 free SRD databases and 41 fee-based SRD databases. SRD must be compliant with rigorous critical evaluation criteria.
SpringerMaterials
SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases and chemical safety data.

Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering Librarian

Aric Ahrens

Related Subjects

Finding Data and Properties in Mechanical Engineering

Alphabetical Listing