Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Illinois Tech Library Guides
Bioseparation and bioprocessing: a handbook by
Call Number: REF.TP248.25.S47B535x2007
Biological product recovery is viewed from every possible angle, including biosafety and regulatory issues. It's the only resource to systematically cover all post-production issues.
Bretherick's handbook of reactive chemical hazards by
Call Number: REF.T55.3.H3B732007
The industry's standard reference to improve chemical safety that should be in every laboratory, chemical plant, emergency response and fire control center, school and college.
Handbook of chemical engineering calculations by
Call Number: TP149.H2852004
Delivers step-by-step procedures for performing a wide array of chemical engineering calculations -- along with fully worked-out examples that help you avoid costly errors.
Handbook of fuel cells : fundamentals, technology, and applications. by
Call Number: REF.TK2931.H342003
Brings together in a single reference work the fundamentals, principles and the current state-of-the-art in fuel cells. It reflects the increasing importance of and the rapidly growing rate of research into alternative, clean sources of energy. Volume 1 covers "Fundamentals and Survey of Systems".
Volume 2 covers "Fuel Cell Electrocatalysis".
Volumes 3 & 4 cover "Fuel Cell Technology and Applications".
Volumes 5 & 6 published in 2009 reflect the shift from optimizing fuel cell performance with well-known materials to developing new materials concepts, and to understanding the origins of materials and fuel cell degradation.
Handbook of separation techniques for chemical engineers by
Call Number: TP156.S45H351997
Covers all major methods used to separate chemicals. Explains in detail all the industrially accepted techniques for separating chemicals from one another without the use of chemical reactions.
International tables for crystallography. by
Call Number: REF.QD908.I562005
Volumes A, A1, B, D, and F.
Valuable resource for scientists engaged in crystal-structure determination, crystallographic research, crystal physics or crystal chemistry. The 24 examples in Volume A include most of the frequently occurring space groups, for both organic and inorganic crystals.
Lange's handbook of chemistry by
Call Number: REF.TP151.H25a
Contains essential information for chemists and chemical engineers. It has four sections: general information and conversion tables, spectroscopy, inorganic chemistry, and organic chemistry
Call Number: REF.RS51.M4
An encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds.
Perry's chemical engineers' handbook. by
Call Number: REF.TP151.P452008
This classic guide used by generations of engineers and chemists provides unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering-from fundamental principles to chemical processes and equipment to new computer applications.
Also available as an e-book.
Sax's dangerous properties of industrial materials by
Call Number: REF.T55.3.H3S31996
This book is the "bible" for those who need to evaluate the hazard of substances used in commerce. It is the only reference that combines, for so many substances, data on toxicological, fire, reactivity, explosive potential, and regulatory information.
A to Z of thermodynamics by
Call Number: REF.QC310.3.P47131998
Explains the key words and phrases in the discipline, deftly bringing out the essential ideas with only minimal use of mathematical notation and provides easy access to an often confusing subject. Includes interesting accounts of noted people and events in the history of the field.
Ane's illustrated dictionary of biotechnology by
Call Number: TP248.16.A762009
Provides straightforward definitions and invaluable background information so that even complex terms require only a rudimentary understanding of the life sciences. Extensive cross-referencing expands individual definitions, enable readers to follow a chosen theme. Illustrations are included where they enhance understanding.
Dictionary of biotechnology by
Call Number: REF.TP248.16.C661992
Explains all the significant terms, procedures and processes encountered in biotechnology, including fermentation, brewing, vaccine production, plant tissue culture, antibiotic production, production and use of enzymes, biomass, byproduct recovery and effluent treatment.
McGraw-Hill dictionary of engineering by
Call Number: REF.TA9.M351997
A comprehensive resource that defines the current language of engineering and gives you a better understanding of the ideas and concepts you need to know. Based on the renowned McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms by
Call Number: REF.Q123.M342003
Includes has some 110,000 terms and 125,000 definitions, accompanied by 3,000 black-and-white illustrations. The format continues as in the past, with letter-by-letter alphabetization. Synonyms, acronyms, and abbreviations are given within the definition. Pronunciation of each and every term continues to set this dictionary apart from other science and technology dictionaries.
Polymer technology dictionary by
Call Number: REF.TP1110.W451994
Dedicated to bringing some sense out of a highly complex and often confusing area of technology. Provides a very comprehensive listing of plastics technology terms along with detailed descriptions.
Condensed encyclopedia of polymer engineering terms by
Call Number: REF.TP1087.C4772001
Provides a comprehensive overview of the nature, manufacture, structure, properties, processing, and applications of commercially available polymers. The physical properties and applications of the materials concerned are described in terms of the theory, chemistry and manufacturing constraints which apply to them.
Dekker Encyclopedia of nanoscience and nanotechnology by
Call Number: REF.T174.7.D455x2004
Provides a comprehensive and detailed review of all the major developments that have characterized the emergence of these important fields and covers biomedical research and applications particularly well.
Encyclopedia of biological chemistry. by
Call Number: REF.QD415.A25E53x2004
Written for a broad, cross-disciplinary audience, this encyclopedia addresses the fundamental discipline of biological chemistry underlying virtually all of the life sciences. It contains more than 500 articles and encompasses all aspects of biochemistry, as well as the extensions of this subject into the related fields of molecular biology, cell biology, genetics and biophysics.
Encyclopedia of catalysis by
Call Number: REF.QD505.E532003
A definitive A-to-Z reference guide covering the most significant aspects of homogeneous, heterogeneous, asymmetric, biomimetic, and biological catalysis. Includes the principles of catalysis, the scope of catalytic reactions, the preparation, characterization, and use of catalysts including catalytic technology, the modeling of catalytic processes, and related reaction engineering techniques.
Encyclopedia of electrochemistry by
Call Number: REF.QD552.5.E532001
Provides an essential source for engineers and scientists and is unrivaled in its breadth and depth, covering everything from fundamental research to areas of application. It spans all electrochemical areas: Fundamentals in electrochemistry, Instrumentation, Electroanalytical chemistry, Corrosion and oxide films, Electrochemical engineering, Semiconductor electrodes / Electrodes and modified electrodes, Photoelectrochemistry, and and organic electrochemistry/ Bioelectrochemistry.
Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology by
Call Number: REF.TP9.K542004
26 volumes + index.
Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, their manufacturing and uses, industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering, and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field.
Get help from the Research Help Office:
phone: (312) 567-3616