Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Illinois Tech Library Guides
What are articles good for?
Articles are great for when you want to find the most current research on your topic or when you need detailed information about very specific subject. There are many types of articles. Some are written by scholars and undergo rigorous peer review; others are written by journalists in the industry and do not face the same scrutiny. You'll find articles from journals and newspapers, as well as conference reports, book reviews, editorials, and popular magazines inside our databases.
Get help from the Research Help Office:
phone: (312) 567-3616
The databases listed below are recommended for chemical and biological engineering. For a full list of library databases covering all subject areas, see the library's Databases page.
- ProQuest SciTech Collection
This huge database combines all former CSA databases. It is "the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more."
- Web of Science
Comprehensive index of journal literature in the sciences.
Index of research covering all aspects of human impact to the environment
- Business Source Permier
This is IIT's largest business-subject database. It provides full-text coverage of more than 2,200 scholarly business, management and economics journals. More than 10,150 substantial company profiles from MarketLine are also included.
- Regional Business News
Covers 75 U.S. business journals, newspapers and newswires.
- SciFinder Scholar
The premier research tool for chemical, biological, biomedical, and related scientific information. First time users must create an account.
- Entrez, the Life Science Search Engine (US National Center for Biotechnology Information)
A comprehensive gateway to search life science databases.
Covers biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Database of research covering all areas of medicine, health care, and pharmacology.
- Academic Search Complete
Contains more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, the majority being peer-reviewed journals. It also provides an index to additional journals, books, reports, and conference proceedings. It covers a wide range of topics and is a good place to start researching a topic.
- Military & Government Collection
Abstracts of journal literature related to all branches of the military.
Archive of essential scholarly journals related to the humanities, physical sciences, and social sciences.
Online access to journals published by Elsevier in the fields of science, technology, and medicine.
Database of journals and proceedings published by various science and engineering societies.
Online access to journals published by Springer.
- Wiley InterScience
Access to leading scientific, technical, medical journals
Search Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a popular way to search for scholarly articles, reports, books and more. You can connect Google Scholar to IIT's libraries from the library links section of Scholar Preferences. This way, when you find an article you'd like to read you will be able to see if we have the article or be directed to MyILL to request it.
Find a specific article
Need to find a specific article quickly? The Articles by Citation form will connect you to the database that has the article, or take you to MyILL to request the article.