LibGuides: Chemical and Biological Engineering: Websites

Recommended Free Websites

American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE)
The global professional community for over 40,000 chemical engineers in 93 countries. AIChE provides members with technical resources as well as tools to manage their careers and lives. Includes special information for students.
American Vacuum Society
AVS a not-for-profit professional society that promotes communication between academia, government laboratories, and industry for the purpose of sharing research and development findings over a broad range of technologically relevant topics. The Web site provides access to an events calendar, awards, membership information, educational resources, reference materials, symposia and technical meetings, journals, short courses, and a buyer's guide.
Argonne National Laboratory
The Chemical Engineering Division is one of the largest divisions at Argonne National Laboratory, a leading Department of Energy laboratory for research and development related to energy and environmental issues.
AskaChE
Answers questions related to chemical engineering in petroleum refining.
Obtain information, not proprietary but general, whatever can be found in a journal, or book, or in the web, or in the mind of a retired process engineer.
Biomechanics WWW
List of websites related to biomechanics.
BioSpace.com
BioSpace is an online community for industry news and careers for professionals in the biotechnology and pharmaceutical industries. For over 23 years, BioSpace has provided quality recruitment and job seeking opportunities. In addition, BioSpace has accelerated communication and discovery among business and scientific leaders in the biopharmaceutical market.
BUBL Catalogue of Internet Resources - Chemical Engineering
Organized by Dewey Decimal Number, BUBL is a catalogue of selected Internet resources covering all academic subject areas. Provided by University of Strathclyde, Glasgow.
Center for Chemical Process Safety Safety (CCPS)
An organization within AIChE that identifies and addresses process safety needs within the chemical, pharmaceutical, and petroleum industries. CCPS brings together manufacturers, government, and academia, etc. to lead the way in improving industrial process safety.
The Chemical Engineering Education (SAChE) Program provides teaching materials and programs to bring elements of process safety into the education of undergraduate and graduate students studying chemical processes and products.
Chemical Engineer's Resource Page - Chemical Engineering Tools and Information
Since 1997, Cheresources.com has been providing the very best online content and tools to chemical engineers all over the world. They provide many FREE chemical engineering resources as well as premium content and software. Also includes ChE Links (an extensive collection of chemical engineering links) brought from Dr. Spang's site at About.com. See the link directory.
Chemical Engineers in Action
Developed by AICHE and the Chemical Heritage Foundation, this web site celebrates the many significant advancements that chemical engineers have made to our world. Learn more about chemical engineering’s great achievements, and new frontiers in the fields of energy, the environment, biomedicine, electronics, food production, and materials.
Chemical Industry Home Page
ChemIndustry.com is the leading comprehensive directory and search engine for chemical industry professionals. Includes links to portals, databases, professional associations, and industry sectors
eFluids
Serves as an information portal for anyone working in the areas of flow engineering, fluid mechanics research, education and directly related topics.
Electrochemical Science and Technology Information Resource (ESTIR)
Contains thousands of general information items about electrochemistry, electrochemical engineering, and electrochemical technology in fourteen sections. You can search the whole site, or you can choose from the INDEX that is provided.
Electrochemical Society
ECS is an international nonprofit, educational organization concerned with a broad range of phenomena relating to electrochemical and solid-state science and technology. The Web site includes access to short courses, research groups, companies, publications, meetings, and awards.
Electrochemistry Dictionary
More than 1,000 simple and brief definitions of words and phrases used often in electrochemistry, crosslinked with the ELECTROCHEMISTRY ENCYCLOPEDIA containing many popular-science style articles written by international experts in the field.
Electrochemistry Encyclopedia
Contains popular-science style articles describing many aspects of electrochemistry, electroanalytical chemistry, electrochemical engineering, and electrochemical technology, written by international experts in the field. It is crosslinked with the ELECTROCHEMISTRY DICTIONARY for definitions. New articles are added at irregular intervals, and all articles are periodically updated as recent developments occur in the field.
Foresight Institute: studying transformative technologies
Seeks to guide emerging technologies by focusing its efforts on nanotechnology. Its Web site contains access to news, events, conferences, publications, and prizes and awards.
History of Chemical Engineering & Chemical Technology
Describes the definition of chemical engineering as well as the growth and change in the chemical industry, the chemical engineering profession, and its educational infrastructure.
Institute of Nanotechnology
The UK-based Institute was established in 1997 to provide a focus for the burgeoning interest in nanotechnology. Its Web site furnishes access to events, courses, Internet resources, books, images, educational materials, and news and developments worldwide.
Intute: Engineering
Provides access to Web resources covering bioengineering, chemical engineering, nanotechnology, etc.
Martindale's Calculators On-line Center - Chemcal Engineering, Chemical Reaction Engineering, and Petroleum Engineering
Includes links to Calculators, Applets, Spreadsheets, and where Applicable includes: Courses, Manuals, Handbooks, Simulations, Animations, Videos, etc.
nanoHUB
A resource for nanoscience and technology created by the NSF-funded Network for Computational Nanotechnology. Hosts resources and web-based tools to help you learn about nanotechnology, including Online Presentations, Courses, Learning Modules, Podcasts, Animations, and Teaching Materials.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
Serves as a national resource for molecular biology information by providing public databases and software tools to analyze genome data, and by disseminating biomedical research information.
National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB)
NIH institute devoted to merging the physical and biological sciences to develop new technologies that improve health.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Provides access to data compiled and distributed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) under the Standard Reference Data Program. Includes access to thermochemical and thermophysical data and spectra.
SciCentral - engineering news
SciCentral editors have been aggregating breaking research news from the most reputable and reliable sources since 1997. The service has received over 30 Web awards and enthusiastic reviews from leading science publishers.
WWW Virtual Library - Engineering
Links to resources in various types of engineering including chemical and biotechnology.

Search Google

"Can I Use this Website in my Research?"

Not all websites were created equal. Some may be very helpful and appropriate for use in an academic setting, while others are unreliable and not suitable for research. When determinining how or if you should use a specific website in your work, run it through the CRAP test. Does the site pass the test? Or is it a bunch of...

Currency
- How recent is the information?
- How recently has the website been updated?
- Is it current enough for your topic?
Reliability
- What kind of information is included in the resource?
- Is content of the resource primarily opinion? Is is balanced?
- Does the creator provide references or sources for data or quotations?
Authority
- Who is the creator or author?
- What are the credentials?
- Who is the published or sponsor?
- Are they reputable?
- What is the publisher's interest (if any) in this information?
- Are there advertisements on the website?
Purpose/Point of View
- Is this fact or opinion?
- Is it biased?
- Is the creator/author trying to sell you something?

(originally from the LOEX 2008 wiki)