LibGuides: Institute of Design Research Guide: Resources: Art/Architecture/Design

Licensed Databases

To browse or search for databases in any subject, click here.

Art & Architecture in Video
Art & Architecture in Video offers a rich collection of documentaries and instructional content covering various aspects of art, architecture, and design. It provides users with visual resources spanning historical and contemporary topics, serving as a valuable tool in the fields of visual arts and architectural studies.
JSTOR Images
JSTOR Images, formerly ARTstor, provides access to over 2 million high-quality images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences from leading museums, photo archives, photographers, and artists. It serves as a comprehensive visual resource, offering tools for viewing, presenting, and organizing images for educational and scholarly purposes.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is an index containing citations and abstracts for articles from state, regional, and professional publications, as well as major serial publications in the fields of architecture, urban planning, interior design, and landscape architecture. It offers researchers and professionals access to a wealth of information on architectural history, theory, and practice from the 1930s to the present.
MIT Press Direct
MIT Press Direct provides access to the digital content published by MIT Press, one of the world's leading academic publishers. It offers a comprehensive collection of ebooks and journals across various fields including science, technology, arts, and social sciences.
Saskia Art Images Collection
The Saskia Art Images Collection provides access to a curated library of high-quality digital images of works of art from around the world. It serves as a valuable resource in the fields of art history, visual arts, and related disciplines, allowing users to discover, study, and utilize these images for educational, research, and creative purposes.

Free-Access Websites

AIGA - American Institute of Graphic Arts
"AIGA, the professional association for design, is the place design professionals turn to first to exchange ideas and information, participate in critical analysis and research and advance education and ethical practice."
Bauhaus-Archive Museum of Design
The Bauhaus Archive / Museum of Design in Berlin is concerned with the research and presentation of the history and impact of the Bauhaus (1919-1933). It's important to understand your roots.

CARLI Digital Collections
Digital collections created by member libraries of the Consortium of Academic and Research libraries of Illinois (CARLI). Subjects mostly include art, photography, and Illinois history.

Centre for Sustainable Design
The Centre for Sustainable Design, a research centre of The Surrey Institute of Art and Design (UK). It is involved in education, training and research into sustainable design.
Cooper-Hewitt Education Resource Center
"Cooper-Hewitt’s Educators’ Resource Center provides you with the resources you need to engage in the design process and use it effectively in your classroom."
Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum
Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum, Smithsonian Institution is the only museum in the nation devoted exclusively to historic and contemporary design.
Free Internet Images
This site is not a collection of images, but a blog that announces the discovery of free image resources on the web.
NASA Images
View images of and by the different NASA creations (the Hubble, space station, etc.). A collaboration with the Internet Archive
Chicago Collections
"Chicago Collections is a consortium of libraries, museums, and other institutions with archives that collaborate to preserve and share the history and culture of the Chicago region."
The Smithsonian Institution Archive Collections
The Smithsonian Institution is one of the world's largest museum, education, and research complexes. Its Archives' collections provide access to researchers to explore the rich history, scientific discoveries, and cultural heritage preserved in its historical records and documents.
Smithsonian Open Access
Download, share and reuse images and data from the Smithsonian's network of museums, libraries, archives, research centers and the National Zoo.
NYPL Digital Gallery
The NYPL Digital Gallery is an extensive online collection of digitized materials from the New York Public Library's vast holdings. It provides free public access to hundreds of thousands of images, including photographs, manuscripts, maps, posters, and rare books, spanning a wide range of subjects and time periods, serving as a valuable resource for researchers, educators, and history enthusiasts worldwide.