LibGuides: Institute of Design Research Guide: Resources: General/Humanities

Databases

To browse or search for databases in any subject, click here.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database offering full-text access to thousands of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, and other publications across a wide range of academic disciplines, including social science, humanities, computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, and more. A good place to begin researching a topic.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Provides access to research journals in communication, technical communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. Offers indexing and abstracts for journals, with full text for 301 journals, as well as a thesaurus and author profiles.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a database offering access to a large collection of academic journals, books, images, and primary sources across multiple disciplines. It provides researchers, students, and scholars with full-text access to archival and current content from various fields including humanities, social sciences, and sciences, making it a crucial resource for literature reviews and historical research.
MIT Press Direct
MIT Press Direct is the best way for libraries to offer MIT Press eBooks to their patrons. Key subject areas covered in the complete collection include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.
SAGE Journals Online
A collection of over 450 online, peer-reviewed journals and other scholarly content in many disciplines including Management and Organization Studies, Communication Studies, Psychology and Sociology. Full-text available from 1999-present.

Free-Access Websites

Center for History and New Media
A collection of teaching, research, and exhibition resources from George Mason University that incorporates the many voices of history.
Communication Arts
From the publishers of Communication Arts magazine, resources for the design professional, including design ideas, online exhibits, job listings, and links to relevant web sites.
National Endowment for the Humanities
A list of sites on suggested by the NEH. Categorized by subject.
OAIster
OAIster is a searchable online catalog of digital resources, including digitized (i.e., scanned) books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files (e.g., wav, mp3), images (e.g.,
Pew Research Center
[from website] The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take positions on policy issues.
Smithsonian Institution
A collection of research tools and exhibit information from all of the Smithsonian museums (natural history, African art, American History and the national zoo, among others).