LibGuides: Computer Science: Journals and Journal Articles

Recommended Databases

ACM Digital Library - Association for Computing Machinery
The Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library is an online repository of papers from publications that have been published, co-published, or co-marketed by the ACM, including journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings. All computing subject areas are covered.

Use these resources to find journal articles, e-books, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more. See the Databases page to see a full list of research databases.

Books 24x7 Books 24x7 is a database of over 4,500 E-books covering computer science and information technology from more than 80 publishers, including MIT Press, Que, Microsoft Press, and many more. This resource is great for finding programming how-to books and technical manuals for network administration, operating systems, database management, and other IT topics.
CiteSeer
CiteSeer is a scientific literature digital library focusing on computer and information science. CiteSeer provides citation indexing for each article, which allows you to see (a) all the references cited by the article, and (b) what other articles have cited the article.
IEEE Xplore - Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers IEEE Xplore contains the full text of publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers, and the Institution of Electrical Engineers. Sources include full text journal articles, conference reports, conference proceedings, standards, and society papers. The database contains more than 450,000 articles in over 12,000 individual publications. In addition, IEEE adds about 25,000 new pages per month, which builds upon a back file of content published since 1988.
MathSciNet
Provided by the American Mathematical Society, MathSciNet is a searchable database of the world's scholarly mathematical literature since 1940, including reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information.
ProQuest SciTech Collection
This huge database is "the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more."

The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
SIAM Journals - Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics
An online digital library of publications of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, from 1997-present. Use the Advanced Search feature to search multiple titles simultaneously.
Web of Science Web of Science provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high-impact research journals in the world. The citation index allows you to see (a) all the references cited by the article, and (b) what other articles have cited the article. This is a good database to use if you have an article of interest and want to expand your search to related documents.

Find a specific article

Need to find a specific article quickly? The articles by citation form listed below will connect you to the database that has the article, or take you to MyILL to request the article.

Find an article from a citation
Use this form to obtain an article when you have a citation or reference.

Citation Searching and Analysis using Web of Science

In addition to finding articles by topic or author, the Web of Science database allows researchers to explore scientific literature by citations and references. Web of Science allows you to follow references both backwards and forwards through time, so you can:

discover articles and papers citing a particular author or paper
determine the most influential articles and/or researchers in a particular topic by the number of times they've been cited
find related articles based on the number of shared references

The publisher of Web of Science provides a number of tutorials on how to use these features. View them here: https://www.youtube.com/user/WoSTraining

What are articles good for?

Articles are great for when you want to find the most current research on your topic or when you need detailed information about very specific subject. There are many types of articles. Some are written by scholars and undergo rigorous peer review; others are written by journalists in the industry and do not face the same scrutiny. You'll find articles from journals and newspapers, as well as conference reports, book reviews, editorials, and popular magazines inside our databases. invisible

How-to Guides

Find Articles on the Library Website
A step by step guide on finding articles on a topic or from your reading list.
Quick guide to databases
This guide briefly explains how to find and use the right database for your subject.
Find scholarly articles
This FAQ explains what scholarly articles are and shows a few ways to find them.
Download Full Text Articles from Library Databases
This PDF details how to access library e-resources such as journal databases and e-books when you are not on campus.

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a popular way to search for scholarly articles, reports, books and more. You can connect Google Scholar to IIT's libraries from the Library links section of Scholar Settings. This way, when you find an article you'd like to read you will be able to see if we have the article or be directed to MyILL to request it.