Skip to main content

Illinois Tech Library Guides

Computer Science: Websites

A guide to finding selected Computer Science resources.

Websites on various Computer Science topics

Programming  |  Directories  |  Search Engines  |  News  |  Reports  |  Dictionaries & Reference  |  Associations & Organizations  |  History  |  Special Topics

Programming

C++
Home page for the C++ language, featuring history, libraries, compilers, publications, and more.

Codase - Source Code Search Engine
Search for code by keyword, class, definition, method, variable, and more.

Java Technology
Resources for Java developers, including code samples and downloads.

Linux Online!
The home page of the Linux operating system. Features news, downloads, user groups, and more.

Programmers' Heaven
A programming metasite with links to code, tools, and tutorials for a variety of platforms, applications, and languages.

ProgrammingTutorials.com
Offers links to over 300 tutorials covering all major languages, as well as development forums.

Script Recources
A Subject Tracer Information Blog compiling current web resources for scripts and codes.

Sourcebank
A directory of links to source code and script posted around the Web. You can search by code terms or browse code by category and language.

Directories

Google computing sites directory
Google's guide to computing sites on the Internet.

Intute: Computer science
Provides categorized access to high quality computing resources on the Internet, as evaluated by subject specialists at UK universities.

Sourcebank
A directory of links to source code and script posted around the Web. You can search by code terms or browse code by category and language.

Search Engines

Codase - Source Code Search Engine
Search for code by keyword, class, definition, method, variable, and more.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly publications online. Use the IIT links in the search results to see if the library has access to full-text.

Scirus
This site searches scientific literature and information in selected journals and the Web. Use the "Advanced Search" feature to limit the results to computer science. Also, by enabling IIT in the Library Partner links under Search Preferences, you can connect directly to the library's online full-text journals.

TechXtra
Search for articles, books, websites, industry news, jobs, technical reports, technical data, e-prints, research, thesis & dissertations, and teaching & learning resources. This site claims to index many "hidden web" resources that aren't covered by Google.

News

ACM TechNews
Computing news from the Association for Computing Machinery.

Government Computer News
News related to government use of computers and technology.

Technology Review
The latest tech and computer news, published by MIT.

Slashdot
A user-driven tech and computer news site, with an informal blog-type feel.

ZDNet: Tech News, Blogs and White Papers for IT Professionals
Technology news focusing on IT and e-business.

Reports

CoRR - Computing Research Repository
An online repository of research papers and reports (mostly e-prints, which are generally advance copies of papers and articles that have not yet been published in academic journals) in computer science. Sponsored by the ACM, arXiv.org, and NCSTRL. Papers can be searched or browsed for based on subject area, title, author, or keywords in the full abstracts.

CiteSeer
A scientific literature digital library of computer and information science papers. CiteSeer also provides citation indexing for each article, which allows you to see (a) all the references cited by the article, and (b) what other articles have cited the article. The Computer Science Directory feature also provides a breakdown of the most-cited articles for various topics within the discipline.

NCSTRL
Pronounced "ancestral," the Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library contains technical reports and papers published by universities and government agencies.

Rexa
A digital library covering computer science research literature that provides information on papers, authors, topics, and National Science Foundation grants -- as well as the links between all of these. Linked citation information is included for all papers. Offers Web 2.0-style bookmarking with tags. Note: you must create a personal account (free) to use this site.

Dictionaries & Reference

ComputerUser High-Tech Dictionary
Online dictionary of computing and technology-related terms and phrases.

The Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
A collection of over 2 million references to journal articles, conference papers and technical reports in computer science. Use the "Browse" links to view documents by subject category.

Dictionary of Algorithms and Data Structures
"A dictionary of algorithms, algorithmic techniques, data structures, archetypal problems, and related definitions."

HCC Education Digital Library
A web portal from Georgia Tech containing useful material for undergrad and graduate education in Human-Centered Computing, Human-Computer Interaction and related areas. Documents include including PowerPoint lectures, class syllabi, videos, example projects, exams, and homework assignments.

ITFacts
A collection of statistics related to computer usage, information technology, and e-business. Browseable by category.

Language Guide
This site contains useful information on a variety of programming languages, such as history, features, sample programs, and related links.

Language List
Basic facts on over 2500 programming languages from past and present.

Associations & Organizations

Association for Computing Machinery
Home page of one of the most important organizations for computing and information technology researchers and professionals.

Center for Democracy & Technology
The CDT works to promote and protect "democratic values and constitutional liberties in the digital age." A good resource for information on law, technology, policy, and ethics.

ICCAN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers)
The organization responsible for the global coordination of the Internet's system of unique identifiers.

IEEE Computer Society
The world's oldest and largest organization for computing professionals. The Society is "dedicated to advancing the theory, practice, and application of computer and information processing technology" through conferences, journals, local and student chapters, technical committees, and standards working groups.

Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics
A scholarly and professional association dedicated to "advancing the application of mathematics and computational science to engineering, industry, science, and society." The society publishes many key journals in the field and sponsors conferences and working groups.

History

Computer History Museum
Web site of the "world's largest and most significant history museum for preserving and presenting the computing revolution." Includes many online exhibits and timelines.

Hobbes' Internet Timeline
A history of computing developments related to the Internet, with links to important research papers.

Special Topics

AI Topics
A site created by the Association for the Advancement of Artifical Intelligence to offer basic, easy-to-understand information about AI.

Data Mining Resources
A Subject Tracer Information Blog compiling current web resources for data mining.

"Can I Use this Website in my Research?"

Not all websites were created equal.  Some may be very helpful and appropriate for use in an academic setting, while others are unreliable and not suitable for research.  When determinining how or if you should use a specific website in your work, run it through the CRAP test.  Does the site pass the test? Or is it a bunch of...

  • Currency
    • How recent is the information?
    • How recently has the website been updated?
    • Is it current enough for your topic?
  • Reliability
    • What kind of information is included in the resource?
    • Is content of the resource primarily opinion?  Is is balanced?
    • Does the creator provide references or sources for data or quotations?
  • Authority
    • Who is the creator or author?
    • What are the credentials?
    • Who is the published or sponsor?
    • Are they reputable?
    • What is the publisher's interest (if any) in this information?
    • Are there advertisements on the website?
  • Purpose/Point of View
    • Is this fact or opinion?
    • Is it biased?
    • Is the creator/author trying to sell you something?

(originally from the LOEX 2008 wiki)

Search Google

Google Web Search

Questions?

Get help from the Research Help Office:

phone: (312) 567-3616

email: library@iit.edu