LibGuides: Library Information for International Students: Finding Articles

Find articles about a topic

Use databases to find articles about a topic. Galvin Library has over 120 different databases. You can search or browse articles by using recommended subject databases.

Here are some most popular databases.

Academic Search Complete
Contains more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, the majority being peer-reviewed journals. It covers a wide range of topics and is a good place to start researching a topic.
ACM Digital Library - Association for Computing Machinery
This database contains research papers, articles, news, journals and all other publications ever published by ACM. Content within the database primarily relates to computer science within different academic fields. The database can be browsed by topic or literature type. The advanced search function allows for specific queries by keyword, institutional affiliation, conference, among other useful features.
Business Source Ultimate
This is IIT's largest business-subject database, including business, management, economics journals, and more than 10,150 substantial company profiles from MarketLine.
ProQuest SciTech Collection
A comprehensive natural and applied science research collection. Includes databases collections for the following subject areas: Agriculture, Aquatic, Atmospheric, Biology, Earth,, Environmental Science, Materials, Aerospace, Engineering, Computer Science.
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary citation indexing database that provides coverage of high-impact scholarly literature across the sciences, technology, engineering, and math. It offers powerful tools for tracking research trends, analyzing citation networks, and evaluating research impact.

Finding Journals

The Journal Search allows you to search for journals available at Galvin Library. You can search for a journal by title or subject. If IIT doesn't own the journal you are looking for, we can obtain copies of articles for you via interlibrary loan.

Subject Librarians and Research Guides

Subject Librarian

Galvin Library has subject librarians for every major area of study. Find out your who is your subject librarian and contact them for research help.

Research Guide
Browse the Research Guide for your subject major or special topic to see what resources are recommended and who to contact for help in that area.

Google Scholar

Setting up "Library Links" on Google Scholar allows you to get easy access to articles available through our library subscriptions. Even if we don't have the full text of the article you found in Google Scholar, the Library Links tool will automatically populate a MyILL request for you so that you can request it through another library. Follow the steps below to set up this feature.

From Google Scholar, click on the 3-bar menu located in the top left:

Choose the Settings option from the menu:

Click on the Library Links option. Search for "Illinois Institute of Technology" and click the magnifying glass:

Check the box next to "Illinois Institute of Technology - Find Full Text -> IIT" and press Save:

Now, when searching for articles, the Find Full Text button will appear to the right of the result. Click on it to get access to the article.

If you don't see the "Find Full Text -> IIT" link on the right side, try expanding the two small arrows below the citation. This will bring you to a request link in order to request the article through MyILL.

To find more information about MyILL and setting up an account, see the page below.

Interlibrary loan Login
Login to access or request materials from another library.