The ProQuest SciTech Collection is a database providing access to scientific and technical literature across various disciplines. It offers full-text articles, abstracts, and citations from journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports in fields such as engineering, computer science, physics, and environmental science.
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database offering full-text access to thousands of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, and other publications across a wide range of academic disciplines, including social science, humanities, computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, and more. A good place to begin researching a topic.
Business Source Ultimate is IIT's largest business database, offering full-text access to thousands of scholarly journals, trade publications, and industry reports on a wide range of business-related topics including management, economics, finance, accounting, and marketing. Includes company profiles, case studies, SWOT analyses, and market research reports. An invaluable resource for researchers seeking current and historical business information.
Industry codes are a way to help classify industries into categories to group similar firms and companies together. Using an industry code to search will help ensure that you are actually looking at companies that are in similar lines of business.
There are several industry code systems, but the one that is most likely to be useful to you is the North American Industry Classification System, or NAICS.
When searching using an industry code, the more digits you use, the more specific your search will be. We recommend starting your search with only 4-5 of the numbers.
Business Source Ultimate is IIT's largest business database, offering full-text access to thousands of scholarly journals, trade publications, and industry reports on a wide range of business-related topics including management, economics, finance, accounting, and marketing. Includes company profiles, case studies, SWOT analyses, and market research reports. An invaluable resource for researchers seeking current and historical business information.
The easiest way to search for materials is by using the Illinois Tech Library Search.
Check out our Library Search User Guide below for more information about performing basic and advanced searches using this tool.
Located in the middle of the library homepage, you can use this search to find known items like required readings and textbooks, or use keywords to find new articles and books.
To look at a particular result, click on the title.
When an item is available online, a list of options will appear under the "View Online" section of the record. Select one of these to access that item. You may be prompted to login with your Illinois Tech credentials before you can view the item.
Use the call number and location listed in the record to find the book on the shelves, or ask at a library help desk for assistance.
Use the link in the catalog, which will automatically populate the request fields, or place a request directly in MyILL using the steps listed on the Interlibrary Loan page of our guide to checking things out.
Google Scholar is a popular way to search for scholarly articles, reports, books, and more. Make sure to connect your Google Scholar account directly to your library account to streamline your access to articles.
Search directly below, or click the link to search in the Google Scholar interface.
Select "Library Links" from the right sidebar menu, and search "Illinois Institute of Technology" in the search bar in the middle of the page.
Check the boxes next to "Illinois Institute of Technology - Find Full Text -> IIT" and "ILLINOIS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY - MAIN CAMPUS - ProQuest Fulltext" and hit "Save"
Now when you search for articles, you should see "Find Full Text -> IIT" to the right of some of your results. Click on it to be redirected to the Illinois Tech catalog to access the article.
