Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Computer & Information Ethics Centers & Programs
Berkman Center for Internet and Society
The Berkman Center's mission is to explore and understand cyberspace; to study its development, dynamics, norms, and standards; and to assess the need or lack thereof for laws and sanctions.
Center for Democracy and Technology
"The Center for Democracy and Technology is a non-profit public interest organization working to keep the Internet open, innovative, and free. As a civil liberties group with expertise in law, technology, and policy, CDT works to enhance free expression and privacy in communications technologies by finding practical and innovative solutions to public policy challenges while protecting civil liberties."
Computer Ethics Institute
As a leader in the field, the Computer Ethics Institute has provided an advanced forum and resource for identifying, assessing and responding to ethical issues associated with the advancement of information technologies in society. Through advisory and consultative activities, research and education, and public outreach, CEI has stimulated awareness of the issues likely to arise as technology continues to develop.
Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility
CPSR is a global organization promoting the responsible use of computer technology. Founded in 1981, CPSR educates policymakers and the public on a wide range of issues. CPSR has incubated numerous projects such as Privaterra, the Public Sphere Project, EPIC (the Electronic Privacy Information Center), the 21st Century Project, the Civil Society Project, and the CFP (Computers, Freedom & Privacy) Conference.
Data and Society
This research group puts out a number of excellent reports, workshops, and podcasts exploring the social implications of data-centric technologies and automation.
UNESCO Information Access & Communication Access
News on reports, new projects, and other resources on information access and computer & information ethics from UNESCO.
Anthologies and Introductory Books on Computer Ethics
Not seeing it?
Check out these guides for more information on databases and other library resources.
Guide on Computer Engineering Resources by Charles Uth
Guide on Computer Science by subject librarian Charles Uth.
Guide looking at broader subject of engineering ethics, including ethics centers, readings, case studies, and other resources.
Guide on Software Engineering by subject librarian Charles Uth.
Journals on Computer Ethics
Ethics and Information Technology
A journal looking at ethical issues of big data, artificial intelligence, and other issues related to computer ethics.
IEEE Technology and Society Magazine
Magazine looking at ethical and societal implications of computer science, big data, and other technologies.
Interacting with Computers
A journal looking at how individuals interact with computers and technology on a daily basis, and the ethical issues that come with this interaction.
Science and Engineering Ethics
An excellent journal that looks at all aspects of ethics in science and engineering, including computer science, artificial intelligence, and the information sciences.
ACM Digital Library - Association for Computing Machinery
This database contains research papers, articles, news, journals and all other publications ever published by ACM. Content within the database primarily relates to computer science within different academic fields. The database can be browsed by topic or literature type. The advanced search function allows for specific queries by keyword, institutional affiliation, conference, among other useful features.
The following is a list of research databases relevant to information systems. Use these resources to search for journal articles, e-books, conference
proceedings, technical papers, and more. See the Databases page for a full
list of research databases.
CoRR - Computing Research Repsoitory
Online e-print repository of research papers and reports in computer science.
IEEE Xplore - Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers IEEE Xplore contains the full text of publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers, and the Institution of Electrical Engineers. Sources include full text journal articles, conference reports, conference proceedings, standards, and society papers.
ProQuest SciTech Collection This huge database is "the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more."
Web of Science One of the world's leading literature sources in the sciences, social sciences, biology, arts and humanities. Also includes proceedings from conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops and conventions.