This is the "Home" page of the "Engineering Ethics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Illinois Institute of Technology My IIT

Engineering Ethics  

A guide to introductory materials and cases on engineering ethics.
Last Updated: Mar 28, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.iit.edu/engineeringethics Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search the IIT Library Catalog

Use this search box to find books, e-books, DVDs and anything else kept inside the IIT Libraries.

by
Advanced Search | How to Find Books

Suggestions?

Come across any other resources? Please feel free to suggest other helpful web sites, articles or books to add to this guide.

Internships

Internships in engineering that give students the opportunity to see the social impact of engineering practice. 

  • Washingtion Internships for Student Engineers
    Sponsored in part by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, this program allows engineering students entering their final year of undergraduate studies are selected to conduct research on a public policy issue for 10 weeks during the summer in Washington, D.C.
 

Whistleblowing

A collection of materials on whistlebllowing in engineering from EthicsCORE. 

Engineering Ethics Centers & Programs

  • Online Ethics Center for Engineering and Science
    Maintained by the National Academy of Engineering, this is the premier web resource for case studies, readings, and education modules on many aspects of engineering research and practice.
  • National Society of Professional Engineers - Engineering Ethics
    This resource developed by the NSPE includes the organization's professional code of ethics, case summaries brought before the Ethical Review Board, and links to other ethics-related resources developed by NSPE.
  • National Institute of Engineering Ethics
    The website of the Murdough Center for Engineering Professionalism and the National Institute for Engineering Ethics. Includes a very nice collection of case studies.
  • EthicsCORE
    This web site includes case studies, articles, books, tutorials and other materials looking at the ethics of engineering.

Codes of Ethics

Other Online Resources

  • Module Series in Applied Ethics
    This series of booklets introduces readers to some of the main issues in professional ethics, including conflict of interest, whistleblowing, issues of loyalty to employers and clients, and technology assessment. Booklets focus on engineering.
  • Engineering Ethics Blog
    A blog about current issues in the field of engineering, by Karl Stephan, a practicing engineer who also teaching as the University of Texas, San Marcos.
  • Engineering Ethics Bibliographies
    A collection of bibliographies developed by the Center for the Study of Ethics in the professions dealing with sustainability, social justice and engineering, legal issues, and professionalism.
  • EthicsCORE
    An incredible collection of resources on ethics in science and engineering. Includes thousands of case studies, articles and other materials on issues such as professionalism, public safety, whistleblowing, etc.
 

Anthologies and Introductory Books on Engineering Ethics

Cover Art
Engineering Ethics: Concepts and Cases - Charles Harris, Michael Pritchard, and Michael Rabins
ISBN: 0495502790
This is an extremely good text for beginning readings and cases. Includes a large number of case studies and sections on engineers in organizations, environmental ethics, international issues, risk and liability in engineering, and wider social issues connected with engineering.

Cover Art
Introduction to Engineering Ethics - Roland Schinzinger and Mike W. Martin
Call Number: CSEP.TA157.S3822000
ISBN: 0072483113
Introductory text including a handful of case studies, an introduction to moral reasoning and ethical theories, and short sections on environmental ethics, weapons development, workplace responsibilities and rights, and global issues.

Ethical Issues in Engineering - Deborah Johnson
Call Number: CSEP.TA157.E831991
This anthology includes a number of readings divided in sections such as the"engineer's responsibility to society" and "obligations of loyalty to employer." Each section is accompanied by a number of related case studies.

Cover Art
Thinking Like an Engineer - Michael Davis
Call Number: CSEP.TA157.D321998
ISBN: 0195120515
This book asks two main questions. What is engineering? and, What ethical principles should guide engineers? The books examines the profession of engineering, the role a code of ethics plays in the profession, professional autonomy, and ways to approach an ethical issue. Davis also examines the Challenger space shuttle disaster, and the dual roles engineers often hold in an organization.

Cover Art
Engineering and Environmental Ethics: A case study approach - John R. Wilcox and Louis Theodore.
Call Number: CSEP.TD153.E541998
ISBN: 0471292362
This book is a collection of around 100 case studies and commentaries on on environmental ethical issues that frequently arise in engineering practice.

Cover Art
Hold Paramount: the engineer's responsibility to society - Alastair S. Gunn and P. Aarne Vesilind.
Call Number: CSEP.TA157.G872003
ISBN: 053439258X
Written in the form of a novel, this book examines a different area of engineering ethics in each chapter, and includes side boxes that discuss the issues encountered by characters in more detail.

Cover Art
Social, Ethical, and Policy Implications of Engineering - Joseph R. Herkert
Call Number: CSEP.TA157.S6282000
ISBN: 0780347129
This anthology includes a number of seminal readings and case studies about a wide variety of issues in engineering, including conflict of interest, risk and product liability, engineering in a global context, and ethics and technology.

 

Journals Focusing on Engineering Ethics

 

To find out if the library has access to a journal either electronically or in print, type all or part of the journal title in the box below.  To search for journals by subject area, click the By Subject tab.


  • The Bridge
    Published by the National Academy of Engineering, this journal often features articles dealing with the responsible practice of engineering and current case studies, such issues raised by Hurricane Katrina in 2005. Print edition available at CSEP Library.
  • IEEE Technology and Society Magazine
    Published by the Institute for Electrical and Electronics Engineers, this magazine examines the impact of technology on society, the impact of society on the engineering profession, and responsibilities of engineers to the profession and the public.
  • Science and Engineering Ethics
    This journal features articles looking at ethical issues of direct concern to scientists and engineers. Includes issues involved in professional practice, education, and research. Print edition available at CSEP Library.

Databases

The following is a list of all electronic resources that are relevant to engineering ethics.

For a list of all databases for all subjects, click here.

  • Philsopher's Index  
    Rating
    Citations from all areas of philosophy, including engineering ethics. Extremely helpful for articles focusing on the moral aspects of engineering practice.
  • Academic Search Premier
    An extremely good database for finding articles dealing with engineering ethics as written by engineers as well as philosophers.
  • IEEE Xplore
    Search for ethics-related articles and conference papers in the areas of electrical engineering and computer science.
  • INSPEC  
      
    Comprehensive database covering all aspects of science, engineering, and technology.
 

Search for a Journal

To find out if the library has access to a journal either electronically or in print, type all or part of the journal title in the box below.  To search for journals by subject area, click the By Subject tab.


Ethics Librarian

Profile Image
Kelly Laas
Contact Info
Hermann Hall, Room 205
3241 S. Federal Street
Chicago, IL 60616
312.567.6913
Send Email

Citation Management Tools

Citation management tools are the easiest way to keep organized and save time throughout the research and writing process.  Here are some recommended tools:

© 2008 Paul V. Galvin Library   35 W. 33rd Street  Chicago, IL 60616
Phone: 312.567.3616   Fax: 312.567.5318   Email: library@iit.edu
Comments & Suggestions || Site Index || Site Search

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip