LibGuides: Humanities 200 (HUM 200): Find Sources

Key Resources

Illinois Tech Library Advanced Search
Use Illinois Tech's Library Search to search through many of Galvin Library's online and electronic resources at once. Find books, articles, journals, and more.
This resource is best if you want to ensure you'll be able to access a resource right away, and you want to do a comprehensive search of all of our holdings.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database offering full-text access to thousands of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, and other publications across a wide range of academic disciplines, including social science, humanities, computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, and more. A good place to begin researching a topic.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a database offering access to a large collection of academic journals, books, images, and primary sources across multiple disciplines. It provides researchers, students, and scholars with full-text access to archival and current content from various fields including humanities, social sciences, and sciences, making it a crucial resource for literature reviews and historical research.

Additional Places to Search

A-Z Database List
All of the library's research databases are accessible from our fully searchable and filterable A to Z database list. There are three filters at the top of the A-Z list to help you select the most appropriate resources:
1) Subject. Use this to select only those resources relevant to your subject area.
2) Type. Use this to select only certain types of resources, like journal articles, books, videos, data, etc.
3) Vendor. Use this to select only free publicly accessible sources OR sources provided by a specific publisher.

Database Search Tricks

The guide below has additional images and explanations, but briefly, remember:

Use keywords instead of full sentences, and be mindful of spelling
Combine keywords using AND, OR, and NOT in the search bars to begin your search.
Use filters like Date, Source Type, or Peer Reviewed to refine your search and find sources that fit your requirements.
Review your results and adjust your keywords to find different articles based on your results.
Save sources that might be useful by copying the citation or permalink, downloading the article, or emailing it to yourself.
If you're having issues accessing a source, contact the library

Finding Journals and Articles: Important Search Tips
This guide from Galvin Library will cover some of the key things to keep in mind while searching in the library search tool.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a popular way to search for scholarly articles, reports, books, and more. Make sure to connect your Google Scholar account directly to your library account to streamline your access to articles.

Search directly below, or click the link to search in the Google Scholar interface.

Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar to search for academic articles in a variety of disciplines. Make sure to link your Google Scholar to your IIT account in order to see when you have immediate access.