Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Illinois Tech Library Guides
Recommended Free Websites
American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
Organizations and Associations - Science
Browse the current issue of Science Magazine and access ScienceInsider for breaking news and analysis from the American Association for the Advancement of Science.
This is the largest site on the internet for bioethics. Its audience is both scientist and layperson.
BioMed Central supports SPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition) which encourages low-cost alternatives to scholarly publishers. BioMed Central makes several biology journals available for free on the web.
A Financial Times survey of the biotechnology industry with links to articles providing an overview and industry case studies.
An excellent resource from the American Library Association. This site has numerous links to biotech resources in industry, research, education, associations, e-journals, discussion groups and more.
Charles Darwin, Complete Works Online
The most comprehensive bibliography of the writings of Charles Darwin ever published. At its core is a revision of R. B. Freeman's pioneering work, The works of Charles Darwin: an annotated bibliographical handlist (2d ed. 1977). This site also links to full text.
Genetic Engineering News
The online version of this bio-industry publication provides abstracts and highlights rather than full-text but it does provide helpful outside links to conferences and industry leaders.
Genetics Education Center
This is a guide to genetics information on the web. It was assembled by the Genetics Education Center at the Kansas University Medical Center.
This site from the Cambridge Health Institute is both searchable and browsable by term. Within entries there are links to related terms and sites.
Human Genome Project Information
This site details progress on the Human Genome Project, a joint effort since 1990 of the Department of Energy and the National Institutes of Health. It contains links to research, project information, news, publications, and issues.
National Academy of Sciences (NAS)
Organizations and Associations -- Science
National Center for Biotechnology Information
Links to GenBank and other promising resources. From the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
Nature magazine provides, through this gateway, links to all their papers published on genome research, categorized by organism, as well as outside links to all things genome related.
The National Human Genome Research Institute
Homepage for the National Human Genome Research Institute, this site includes links to the Human Genome Project, genomic and genetic resources, policy and public affairs, and workshops and conferences.
The Virtual Library: Biosciences
The Virtual Library is the oldest catalog on the web, compiled by volunteers.
"Can I Use this Website in my Research?"
Not all websites were created equal. Some may be very helpful and
appropriate for use in an academic setting, while others are unreliable
and not suitable for research. When determining how or if you should
use a specific website in your work, run it through the CRAP test. Does
the site pass the test? Or is it a bunch of...
- How recent is the information?
- How recently has the website been updated?
- Is it current enough for your topic?
- What kind of information is included in the resource?
- Is content of the resource primarily opinion? Is it balanced?
- Does the creator provide references or sources for data or
- Who is the creator or author?
- What are the credentials?
- Who is the published or sponsor?
- Are they reputable?
- What is the publisher's interest (if any) in this information?
- Are there advertisements on the website?
Purpose/Point of View
- Is this fact or opinion?
- Is it biased?
- Is the creator/author trying to sell you something?
(originally from the LOEX 2008 wiki)
Get help from the Research Help Office:
phone: (312) 567-3616