LibGuides: Biology: Articles and Databases

What are articles good for?

Articles are great for when you want to find the most current research on your topic or when you need detailed information about very specific subject. There are many types of articles. Some are written by scholars and undergo rigorous peer review; others are written by journalists in the industry and do not face the same scrutiny. You'll find articles from journals and newspapers, as well as conference reports, book reviews, editorials, and popular magazines inside our databases.

How-to Guides

Find Articles on the Library Website
A step by step guide on finding articles on a topic or from your reading list.
Quick guide to databases
This guide briefly explains how to find and use the right database for your subject.
Find scholarly articles
This FAQ explains what scholarly articles are and shows a few ways to find them.
Download Full Text Articles from Library Databases
This PDF details how to access library e-resources such as journal databases and e-books when you are not on campus.

Recommended Databases

These databases are great places to look to find information about biology. Check out the Databases page to see a full list of databases.

ProQuest SciTech Collection
This huge database is "the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more."

The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Web of Science One of the world's leading literature sources in the STEM fields: Science, Technology, Engineering, & Mathematics. In addition to peer-reviewed research articles, WoS also includes review articles, and proceedings from conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, etc.
Academic Search Complete Contains more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, the majority being peer-reviewed journals. It also provides an index to additional journals, books, reports, and conference proceedings. It covers a wide range of topics and is a good place to start researching a topic.
Dissertations and Theses Online database of doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Full-text is available for many items, and ordering/purchasing information is included for those items with no full-text.
MEDLINE
Database of research covering all areas of medicine, health care, and pharmacology.
PubMed
PubMed is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 24 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to over 3 million full text articles and other related resources.
ScienceDirect
Full text scientific research database focusing on science, technology and medicine while also stocking certain humanities publications.
SpringerLink
Provides electronic access to the complete contents of a growing collection of SpringerLink journals in subjects including Mathematics and Computer Science (formerly Kluwer Journals).
Wiley Online Library
Publishers of 1500 journals, Wiley Online Library hosts a broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Featuring the world-renowned CAS Content Collection, CAS SciFinder has the tools and information you need to uncover relevant, actionable insights faster.
In order to access this resource, you will first need to register for a SciFinder account at the following URL: http://www.tinyurl.com/GLSF1.

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a popular way to search for scholarly articles, reports, books and more. You can connect Google Scholar to IIT's libraries from the library links section of Scholar Preferences. This way, when you find an article you'd like to read you will be able to see if we have the article or be directed to MyILL to request it.

Find a specific article

Need to find a specific article quickly? The articles by citation form listed below will connect you to the database that has the article, or take you to MyILL to request the article.

Find an article from a citation
Use this form to obtain an article when you have a citation or reference.