Skip to Main Content

Biology: Handbooks, Dictionaries, etc

Library information and resources for the Biology Department at Illinois Tech

Handbooks

Biology data book, Volumes 1-3 (2nd edition) by Altman, Philip L.
Call Number: REF.QH310.B56x1972
ISBN: 0913822078 (v. 2)
Presents numerical data of biology and medicine in an accessible form.
Quantities, symbols, units, and abbreviations in the life sciences by Kotyk, Arnost
Call Number: REF.QH304.5.Q361999
ISBN: 0896036162
Compilation of recommendations for using units, symbols, abbreviations, and acronyms in publications in the biological sciences.

Dictionaries

The Facts on File dictionary of biology by Hine, Robert
Call Number: REF.QH302.5.F382005
ISBN: 0816056471
Henderson's dictionary of biological terms by Lawrence, Eleanor
Call Number: REF.QH302.5.H652000
ISBN: 0582414989
McGraw-Hill dictionary of the life sciences by Lapedes, Daniel N.
Call Number: REF.QH302.5.M3
ISBN: 0070452628
The Penguin dictionary of biology by Thain, M.
Call Number: REF.QH13.N622004
ISBN: 0141013966
Science and technology illustrated : the world around us, Volumes 1-28 by Encyclopaedia Britannica Staff
Call Number: REF.Q121.S351984
ISBN: 08522294255
A to Z of biologists by Yount, Lisa
Call Number: REF.QH26.Y682003
ISBN: 0816045410
New dictionary of scientific biography, Volumes 1-8 by Koertge, Noretta
Call Number: REF.Q141.N452008
ISBN: 0684313200 (set)

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of life sciences, Volumes 1-20
Call Number: REF.QH302.5.E53x2005
ISBN: 0470016175
Grzimek's animal life encyclopedia, Volumes 1-13 by Grzimek, Bernhard
Call Number: REF.QL3.G7813
McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science & technology, Volumes 1-20
Call Number: REF.Q121.M32007
ISBN: 0071441433
Van Nostrand's scientific encyclopedia by Considine, Glenn D.
Call Number: REF.Q121.S351984
ISBN: 0442018649 (set)

Questions?

Get help from the Research Help Office:

phone: (312) 567-3616

email: library@iit.edu