Skip to main content

Illinois Tech Library Guides

History: Books

Available E-Books Resources

HathiTrust

An immense digital repository, this research tool allows the user to conduct full-text searches on millions of books, many of which are copyright-protected. Use it to locate books with even one mention of your topic, and then find it in a library you can borrow from. You can also use it to identify specific page numbers of a search.

Open-Access Text Archive 

An online of collection of over 6 million e-books curated by the Internet Archive.

eBook Collection at EBSCOhost: IIT Access Only

Collection of e-books for all academic subjects.
Note: You may be asked to create an individual account for access to content.

University of Virginia Electronic Text Center Collections

Their "Virgo" catalog contains access to over 10,000 publicly accessible e-books.

Project Gutenberg

Access to over 75,000 e-books, including classics of literature

And many more Arts & Humanities archives and finding aids are available at the Internet Public Library Online.

Google Books

Google Books is another possible place to look.  For a few items you can read the entire book.  For others you can see a preview of the inside of the book, and then see if the IIT Libraries have it available, or use Interlibrary Loan to request it from another institution.

Google Book Search

Online Learning and Instruction Librarian

Nichole Novak's picture
Nichole Novak
Contact:
Paul V. Galvin Library
35 W. 33rd St.
Chicago, IL 60616
312.567.3613