Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Illinois Tech Library Guides
Search the IIT Library Catalog
Use this search box to find books, e-books, DVDs and anything else kept inside the IIT Libraries.
Suggested Print Resources
Ethics and the University by
Call Number: CSEP.LB2324.D381999
Discusses ethical issues in academic life, methods of teaching ethics in professional courses, and ethics in student life on campus.
Books on Academic Ethics in held in IIT Libraries
Academic Ethics at IIT
Resources relevant to IIT students, faculty & staff.
Code of Academic Honesty
The Code of Academic Honesty for the Illinois Institute of Technology, found in the Student Handbook.
Code of Conduct
The Student Code of Conduct for the Illinois Institute of Technology, outlining behaviors and practices that students should refrain from while they are a member of the IIT community.
IIT Code of Ethics
This code of ethics was developed by the Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions with substantial input from focus groups made up of IIT students, faculty, staff, and administrators. Though never fully adopted by IIT as official, it is an extremely good example of the ethical ideas of the IIT community.
Collections of case studies dealing with academic ethics including academic integrity, plagiarism, collaboration, choosing a mentor, and intellectual freedom.
A collection of case studies developed by the Markkkua Center for Applied Ethics at Santa Clara University.
Ethics Education Library
Developed by the Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions at IIT, the Ethics Education Library includes a large collection of case studies dealing with academic ethics both from the perspective of the student and the professor.
Other University Codes of Ethics
Aspirational codes of ethics developed by universities other than IIT.
University of Pennsylvania, Student Code of Ethics
Code of Ethics for University of Pennsylvania students in the School of Engineering and Applied Science. This code is interesting as it directly ties in to codes of ethics adopted by major professional engineering societies.
University of Southern California
Short code of ethics developed by USC in 2004, describing the moral obligations of students, faculty, staff, and administrators of the university.
Codes of Ethics collected by CSEP
A collection of links to university codes of ethics collected by the Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions.
Honor Codes and Academic Policies
Collection of Honor Codes and Academic Policies of colleges and universities maintained by Clemson University's Center for Academic Integrity.
Journal of Academic Ethics
The Journal of Academic Ethics is an interdisciplinary, peer reviewed journal devoted to the examination of ethical issues that arise in all aspects of post-secondary education, primarily within a university context.
Journal of Higher Education
Founded in 1930, The Journal of Higher Education is the leading scholarly journal on the institution of higher education.
Chronicle of Higher Education
A weekly publication focusing on news, trends, and emerging issues in higher education. Often covers debates over issues such as intellectual freedom, issues of diversity, research integrity, and debates going on about the role of colleges and universities in society.
Search for a Journal
To find out if the library has access to a journal either electronically or in print, type all or part of the journal title in the box below. To search for journals by subject area, click the By Subject tab.
Search Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a popular way to search for scholarly articles, reports, books and more. You can connect Google Scholar to IIT's libraries from the library links section of Scholar Preferences. This way, when you find an article you'd like to read you will be able to see if we have the article or be directed to MyILL to request it.
Retroactive Grade Inflation
In order to help their students get jobs in a struggling economy, some law schools have retroactively inflated its students' GPAs. The schools maintain that they are not artificially enhancing students' grades, but merely bringing their students' grades in line with the grades received by students at other law schools.
Attractiveness Discrimination in Hiring
The hiring process for a teaching position at a university has been narrowed down to three candidates. All three candidates had been professional, friendly, and shown strong potential in their research. But while two of the candidates were young and attractive, the third, Darrell did not fall into that social category. In student evaluations, Darrell received lower scores than the other candidates, potentially because of his appearance. Should attractiveness matter in the hiring process?