LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Finding OER

Where to Find OERs

There are many of collections of open textbooks and other resources that can be adopted and adapted to use in your course. The resources listed below are a sampling of some of the largest platforms hosting openly-licensed content. To view a subject-specific list of OERs, visit our A-Z database page and filter the results by selecting your subject area and the database type of "educational resources & online courses" from the drop-downs at the top of the list. If you are unable to find openly licensed resources that meet your needs, please reach out to us at library@iit.edu.

Interdisciplinary OER Platorms

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
LibreTexts
The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty, and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of OERs to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society.
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
The Mason OER Metafinder allows you to simultaneously search across the multiple OER repositories (e.g., MERLOT II, OAOpen.org, OER Commons, OpenStax CNX, etc.) as well as many open archival repositories (e.g. HathiTrust, Internet Archive, Project Gutenberg, etc.).
Merlot
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
OER Commons
OER Commons is a collection of free open educational resources, such as recorded class lectures, exercises, and document spanning all subjects and all age groups from preschool through college-level.
Open Geography
This website is dedicated to providing free, open curricula and resources to anybody who is interested in our geographic world. Using the world as our contributors and content experts, we will strive to make the most engaging, dynamic, and relevant information possible.
Open Library
The eCampusOntario Open Library provides educators and learners with access to more than 500 free and openly-licensed educational resources.
Open Textbook Library
Launched by the University of Minnesota, the Open Textbook Library hosts a large collection of openly licensed, peer-reviewed textbooks in all subject areas.
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS)
OASIS is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 117 different sources and contains 388,707 records. OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
OpenStax
Rice University's resource which contains peer-reviewed open textbooks in science, math, business, and the social sciences.

Science and Engineering

BioInteractive
Features resources (activities, case studies, media) that focus on core concepts and processes in biology, with interdisciplinary resources that connect to environmental science, chemistry, and math and statistics.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
Engineering Technology
This website consists of a series of 3D simulations on engineering technology topics. These simulations, developed by e-Learning Company Lucid Way, are approximately from 2-9 minutes long and are used as part of their curriculum to help students quickly and thoroughly grasp the concepts being presented in a visual format.
LibreTexts
The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty, and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of OERs to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society.
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
The Mason OER Metafinder allows you to simultaneously search across the multiple OER repositories (e.g., MERLOT II, OAOpen.org, OER Commons, OpenStax CNX, etc.) as well as many open archival repositories (e.g. HathiTrust, Internet Archive, Project Gutenberg, etc.).
Merlot
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
OER Commons
OER Commons is a collection of free open educational resources, such as recorded class lectures, exercises, and document spanning all subjects and all age groups from preschool through college-level.
Open Geography
This website is dedicated to providing free, open curricula and resources to anybody who is interested in our geographic world. Using the world as our contributors and content experts, we will strive to make the most engaging, dynamic, and relevant information possible.
Open Library
The eCampusOntario Open Library provides educators and learners with access to more than 500 free and openly-licensed educational resources.
Open Textbook Library
Launched by the University of Minnesota, the Open Textbook Library hosts a large collection of openly licensed, peer-reviewed textbooks in all subject areas.
Open Textbooks for Engineering
This is a browsable list of open textbooks in engineering compiled by the Engineering Libraries Division (ELD) of the American Society for Engineering Education. It is organized by engineering discipline.
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS)
OASIS is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 117 different sources and contains 388,707 records. OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
OpenStax
Rice University's resource which contains peer-reviewed open textbooks in science, math, business, and the social sciences.
Science Forward
Focuses on the critical thinking skills in use across the scientific disciplines. Starting with critical issues in the contemporary world, from climate change to the social and economic implications of artificial intelligence, the course encourages active learning and inquiry-based instruction.

Business and Economics

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
LearningEdge Cases (MIT Sloan)
The teaching business case studies available on LearningEdge, which fall under the headings of entrepreneurship, leadership/ethics, operations management, strategy, sustainability, and system dynamics, are narratives that facilitate class discussion about a particular business or management issue. Teaching cases are meant to spur debate among students rather than promote a particular point of view or steer students in a specific direction.
LibreTexts
The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty, and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of OERs to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society.
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
The Mason OER Metafinder allows you to simultaneously search across the multiple OER repositories (e.g., MERLOT II, OAOpen.org, OER Commons, OpenStax CNX, etc.) as well as many open archival repositories (e.g. HathiTrust, Internet Archive, Project Gutenberg, etc.).
Merlot
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
OER Commons
OER Commons is a collection of free open educational resources, such as recorded class lectures, exercises, and document spanning all subjects and all age groups from preschool through college-level.
Open Geography
This website is dedicated to providing free, open curricula and resources to anybody who is interested in our geographic world. Using the world as our contributors and content experts, we will strive to make the most engaging, dynamic, and relevant information possible.
Open Library
The eCampusOntario Open Library provides educators and learners with access to more than 500 free and openly-licensed educational resources.
Open Textbook Library
Launched by the University of Minnesota, the Open Textbook Library hosts a large collection of openly licensed, peer-reviewed textbooks in all subject areas.
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS)
OASIS is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 117 different sources and contains 388,707 records. OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
OpenStax
Rice University's resource which contains peer-reviewed open textbooks in science, math, business, and the social sciences.

Social Sciences and Humanities

Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning
The overall mission of these federally-funded centers is to improve the teaching and learning of foreign languages by producing resources (materials and best practices) that can be profitably employed in a variety of settings.oer
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
LibreTexts
The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty, and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of OERs to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society.
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
The Mason OER Metafinder allows you to simultaneously search across the multiple OER repositories (e.g., MERLOT II, OAOpen.org, OER Commons, OpenStax CNX, etc.) as well as many open archival repositories (e.g. HathiTrust, Internet Archive, Project Gutenberg, etc.).
Merlot
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
Noba Project
This Psychology OER offers several individual modules for different topics, as well as a fully constructed introductory text.
OER Commons
OER Commons is a collection of free open educational resources, such as recorded class lectures, exercises, and document spanning all subjects and all age groups from preschool through college-level.
Open Geography
This website is dedicated to providing free, open curricula and resources to anybody who is interested in our geographic world. Using the world as our contributors and content experts, we will strive to make the most engaging, dynamic, and relevant information possible.
Open Library
The eCampusOntario Open Library provides educators and learners with access to more than 500 free and openly-licensed educational resources.
Open Textbook Library
Launched by the University of Minnesota, the Open Textbook Library hosts a large collection of openly licensed, peer-reviewed textbooks in all subject areas.
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS)
OASIS is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 117 different sources and contains 388,707 records. OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
OpenStax
Rice University's resource which contains peer-reviewed open textbooks in science, math, business, and the social sciences.

This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Open Educational Resources (OER)

Paul V. Galvin Library

Chat with us:

Make a research appointment:

Search our FAQ:

Where to Find OERs

Interdisciplinary OER Platorms

Science and Engineering

Business and Economics

Social Sciences and Humanities