Scholarly Communication

Retraction watch is a searchable database of research papers that have been retracted due to ethical issues, such as plagiarism, fabrication or falsification of research results, or unauthorized release or publication of data. Because of these problems, retraced papers should not be cited or used in your own research.

Sherpa Romeo is a searchable database of publishers' policies regarding open access, copyright, and permissions. This is particularly useful to researchers checking to see how their go-to journals comply with open access mandates from their funders or for seeking out alternative journals that better support funders' mandates.

The Open Access Directory (OAD) is a compendium of simple factual lists about open access (OA) to science and scholarship, maintained by the OA community at large. By bringing many OA-related lists together in one place, OAD makes it easier for everyone to discover them, use them for reference, and update them.

Sherpa Juliet is a searchable database of funding agencies' policies regarding open access, publication, and data management / data sharing. This is particularly useful for researchers looking for up-to-date information regarding open access mandates from their funders.

The Data Curation Network is a membership organization of data repositories and data professionals based at the University of Minnesota. While aimed primarily at data professionals, they have a number of resources for researchers as well, including best practices for preparing data for sharing and online workshops and educational modules.

Resources.data.gov is an online repository of policies, standards, tools, case studies, and other resources to support data governance, management, exchange, and use.

The DMP Tool is an interactive tool for drafting data management plans that walks you through the process of creating a plan for a variety of funding agencies and institutions.

ezDMP is a free web-based tool for creating DMPs specific to a subset of NSF funding requirements.

Learn what NIH expects Data Management & Sharing plans to address. This page includes sample DMPs and a template or format.

This NIH website offers extensive information on the NIH's data sharing and data management policies.

The Research Data Framework (RDaF) is a structured approach to managing research data developed by the NIST. As of early 2023, the document is in a preliminary state f development. The website linked here contains information on NIST's project, presentations, links to the documents, and guides on how to become involved.

The Open Data Handbook provides useful guides, case studies, and other resources to help researchers better understand open data and data management.

UNESCO is a world leader in developing an international framework for open science / open scholarship policy. Their website provides a wealth of information on open science / open scholarship as well as a toolkit to support the implementation of their recommendations.

The Open Science Training Handbook offers guidance and resources on Open Scholarship or Open Science for researchers, administrators, students, or anyone else interested in improving levels of transparency and participation in research practices.

The repository supports cross-disciplinary collaboration by collecting, preserving, disseminating, and providing persistent and reliable access to all faculty, staff, and student digital research and scholarship. It is supported and maintained by the Paul V. Galvin Library. The repository also preserves library and archival collections, and serves as a living archive for other materials representing the many diverse aspects of the IIT community.

This is a searchable database for tracking, comparing, and understanding both current and future U.S. federal funder requirements for sharing research articles and research data.

SPARC* Open Education encompasses resources, tools and practices that are free of legal, financial and technical barriers and can be fully used, shared and adapted in the digital environment.

Through a range of tools and practical resources, Think. Check. Submit. helps researchers identify trusted publishers for their research, thereby promoting integrity and building trust in credible research and publications.