This guide offers some materials to begin your research on the following topics: animal research subjects, authorship, conflict of interest, data integrity and management, human research participants and research misconduct.
Department of Health and Human Services. Site includes educational resources on responsible conduct of research, U.S. legislation, guidelines governing federally funded research, and reports and news summaries of national and international misconduct.
maintained by the National Academy of Engineering, the Center includes a library of cases, online modules, and quality introductory articles on ethics in engineering and the sciences.
Part of the Kennedy Center for ethics, this is a database of bioethics literature fully searchable by keyword and topic area. A very good source for doing in-depth searching on bioethics topics.
This paper outlines the Royal Society's position on the roles of codes of conduct in preventing the misuse of scientific research, building on the Society's previous publications on the subject. This paper also discusses methods that complement codes of conduct in preventing the misuse of science, including training and the extension of existing regulations. Other aspects of scientific conduct, such as scientific fraud and the public responsibilities of scientists, are not addressed in this pape
his concise introductory guide explains the values that should inform the responsible conduct of scientific research in today’s global setting. Featuring accessible discussions and ample real-world scenarios, Doing Global Science covers proper conduct, fraud and bias, the researcher’s responsibilities to society, communication with the public, and much more.
This is the seminal work on the responsible conduct of research. The link is to full text of the second edition of a book published by the National Academies Press in 1995. The third edition is due out in June of 2009.
Published by the Association for Practical and Professional Ethics, this is a collection of hundreds of case studies developed by graduate students. Each case is accompanied by expert commentaries. All of these cases can also be found online on the Online Ethics Center.
This booklet introduces the reader to the nine RCR core instructional areas in four sections that follows research from inception to planning, conducting, reporting, and reviewing research. The publication features case studies, text-box inserts, discussion questions, and electronic and printed resources.
Covering all fields of philosophy and practical ethics, search here for articles on the responsible conduct of research, bioethics, and teaching ethics. Articles tend to approach subject from a less discipline-specific perspective.
PubMed is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. A good resource for searching for discipline-specific ethics articles.
Web of Science provides access to to approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious research journals in the world. Enter your search terms, and limit your search to "ethics" or "philosophy" in the left side-bar to refine the results of your search.
This video simulation, developed by the U.S. Office of Research Integrity, allows users to assume the role of a graduate student, post-doc, research administrator, or PI and make decisions that affect the integrity of research.
Doing Global Science by 
Responsible Conduct of Research by 
On Being a Scientist by 
A New Approach to Research Ethics by 
