Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ethics Centers Focusing on Scientific Research Ethics
U.S. Office of Research Integrity,
Department of Health and Human Services. Site includes educational resources on responsible conduct of research, U.S. legislation, guidelines governing federally funded research, and reports and news summaries of national and international misconduct.
Online Ethics Center
maintained by the National Academy of Engineering, the Center includes a library of cases, online modules, and quality introductory articles on ethics in engineering and the sciences.
Kennedy Institute of Ethics
The Kennedy Institute of Ethics is one of the premier bioethics centers in the U.S. Located at Georgetown University.
National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature
Part of the Kennedy Center for ethics, this is a database of bioethics literature fully searchable by keyword and topic area. A very good source for doing in-depth searching on bioethics topics.
Books and Anthologies
Doing Global Science by
Call Number: Q180.A1 I23 2016
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
his concise introductory guide explains the values that should inform the responsible conduct of scientific research in today’s global setting. Featuring accessible discussions and ample real-world scenarios, Doing Global Science covers proper conduct, fraud and bias, the researcher’s responsibilities to society, communication with the public, and much more.
On Being a Scientist by
Publication Date: 2009-04-24
This is the seminal work on the responsible conduct of research. The link is to full text of the second edition of a book published by the National Academies Press in 1995. The third edition is due out in June of 2009.
Research Ethics: Fifteen Cases and Commentaries
Call Number: Q180.55.M67
Published by the Association for Practical and Professional Ethics, this is a collection of hundreds of case studies developed by graduate students. Each case is accompanied by expert commentaries. All of these cases can also be found online on the Online Ethics Center.
Introduction to the Responsible Conduct of Research by
This booklet introduces the reader to the nine RCR core instructional areas in four sections that follows research from inception to planning, conducting, reporting, and reviewing research. The publication features case studies, text-box inserts, discussion questions, and electronic and printed resources.
Academic Search Complete
A good general database for all areas of science research ethics.
Ethics Education Library
A collection of journal articles, case studies, tutorials, and other resources on scientific research ethics.
Covering all fields of philosophy and practical ethics, search here for articles on the responsible conduct of research, bioethics, and teaching ethics. Articles tend to approach subject from a less discipline-specific perspective.
PubMed is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. A good resource for searching for discipline-specific ethics articles.
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to to approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious research journals in the world. Enter your search terms, and limit your search to "ethics" or "philosophy" in the left side-bar to refine the results of your search.
In The Lab
In the Lab: An Interactive Film
This video simulation, developed by the U.S. Office of Research Integrity, allows users to assume the role of a graduate student, post-doc, research administrator, or PI and make decisions that affect the integrity of research.