Why Should I Do This?
The Career Management Center surveys company representatives after each Career Fair and companies have reported that they would like students to have more knowledge about the industry they are involved in, and particularly about the firm that the representatives are hiring for. Remember that a conversation at a Career Fair is a pre-interview and you should show up prepared to atlk about the industry you want to work in.
Below are some easy ways to use to get that information.
Find Company and Industry News
Get a Wall Street Journal account! Sign up for an account (you must do this on campus) and access both The Wall Street Journal and Barron's websites online. You can also download an app that lets you read the news on your phone.
The Business Source Premier database is our largest business database and has articles from thousands of academic journals, newspapers and trade magazines around the world.
The Privco database is a great resource for privately-owned companies who do not have to file reports with the SEC for stock trading.
The Regional Business News database is smaller, but will have more localized news and may be a better resource for smaller companies.
MarketResearch.com Academic provides access to market reports and forecasting for industries that will allow your "market intelligence" to shine through!
BizMiner is great for doing financial analysis of industry, with market reports and forcasted trends.
Find a Company Profile
Have an interview with a larger company? The Business Source Premier database has thousands of company profiles available. These reports include detailed company information, including:
- Company history
- Key employees
- Top competitors
- SWOT analyses (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats)
Browse or search Company Profiles
Search Tip: Truncation
A truncation search allows you to search for several similar terms using one word. For example if you wanted to search for information on industry in China, using the search term
will return any results that include the words "industry", "industries", or "industrial".
Many databases use the asterisk * symbol for a truncation search; some may use a question mark ?. Check the help section of the database you're using to be sure, or ask a librarian.
Search Tip: Phrases
You may already be using this method when you're searching in Google, but by placing quotation marks around a specific phrase, you can limit your results to items that use that exact phrase.
If you search for the exact phrase "pulse generator", the following title will be included in your results,
"Design of a Tunable All-Digital UWB Pulse Generator CMOS Chip for Wireless Endoscope,"
but not the title
"Helix antennas for generators of short high-voltage pulses".