LibGuides: SSCI 209: Social Sciences Research Methods: Key Resources

Illinois Tech Library Search

The easiest way to search for materials is by using the Illinois Tech Library Search.

Illinois Tech Library Search
Find hundreds of thousands of books, articles, journals, and more, available through our databases and digital and physical collections.

Check out our Library Search User Guide below for more information about performing basic and advanced searches using this tool.

Library Search User Guide
This guide will explain how to access your library account, find course reserves, and perform basic and advanced searches using the library search tool.

Search Tips

The guide below has additional images and explanations, but briefly, remember:

Combine keywords using AND, OR, and NOT in the search bars to begin your search.
Use filters like Date, Source Type, or Peer Reviewed to refine your search and find sources that fit your requirements.
Review your results and adjust your keywords to find different articles based on your results.
Save sources that might be useful by copying the citation or permalink, downloading the article, or emailing it to yourself.

Finding Journals and Articles: Important Search Tips
This guide from Galvin Library will cover some of the key things to keep in mind while searching in the library search tool.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database offering full-text access to thousands of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, and other publications across a wide range of academic disciplines, including social science, humanities, computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, and more. A good place to begin researching a topic.
JSTOR
JSTOR (Journal STORage) is an archive of important scholarly journals in a variety of subject related to the humanities, physical sciences, and social sciences. JSTOR has a historical focus and contains many older journals and articles. A multidisciplinary database containing articles from many essential peer-reviewed sources.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center via EBSCO
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
ProQuest SciTech Collection
Multi-subject database including full text journals covering materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science, earth sciences, and many more.
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a popular way to search for scholarly articles, reports, books, and more. Make sure to connect your Google Scholar account directly to your library account to streamline your access to articles.

Search directly below, or click the link to search in the Google Scholar interface.

Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar to search for academic articles in a variety of disciplines. Make sure to link your Google Scholar to your IIT account in order to see when you have immediate access.