Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended eBooks-Food Science and Nutrition
Ecodesign and Ecoinnovation in the Food Industries by
Publication Date: 2020-02-26
Innovations of agri-food systems during the last 50 years have been guided by a globalized agro-industrial paradigm, which has contributed to climate change, degradation of natural resources, soil depletion, social inequalities, loss of biodiversity and various food-related health problems. Despite the increasing emphasis of food policies and research to address these issues with ecologically sustainable innovations, there are still no studies that explain how to utilize and integrate ecodesign practices in food products development in a world of finite resources. This book explains how to employ ecodesign in business models to address the economic, social, environmental, and nutritional problems that face the world's food systems. Summary taken from the book.
Food, Fermentation, and Micro-Organisms by
Publication Date: 2019-02-08
Fermentation and the use of micro-organisms is one of the most important aspects of food processing - an industry that is worth billions of US dollars world-wide. Integral to the making of goods ranging from beer and wine to yogurt and bread, it is the common denominator between many of our favorite things to eat and drink. In this updated and expanded second edition of Food, Fermentation, and Micro-organisms, all known food applications of fermentation are examined. Beginning with the science underpinning food fermentations, the author looks at the relevant aspects of microbiology and microbial physiology before covering individual foodstuffs and the role of fermentation in their production, as well as the possibilities that exist for fermentation's future development and application.
Food Safety for the 21st Century by
Publication Date: 2018-08-08
Revised to reflect the most recent developments in food safety, the second edition of Food Safety for the 21st Century offers practitioners an authoritative text that contains the essentials of food safety management in the global supply chain. Summary taken from the book
Intellectual Property in the Food Technology Industry by
Publication Date: 2008-12-16
Considering the effort and funding devoted to a company's success, understanding Intellectual Property rights patents, trade secrets, trademarks, and licensing is essential. Establishing appropriate internal policies from the outset can prevent companies from learning a costly and painful lesson in the courtroom. With Intellectual Property in the Food Technology Industry, currently the only book of its kind focusing specifically on the food industry, one will learn what to consider throughout the various creative phases of a product's lifespan from initial research and development initiatives.
Molecular Techniques in Food Biology by
Publication Date: 2018-04-20
Molecular Techniques in Food Biology: Safety, Biotechnology, Authenticity & Traceability explores all aspects of microbe-food interactions, especially as they pertain to food safety. Traditional morphological, physiological, and biochemical techniques for the detection, differentiation, and identification of microorganisms have severe limitations. As an alternative, many of those responsible for monitoring food safety are turning to molecular tools for identifying food borne microorganisms. This book reviews the latest molecular techniques for detecting, identifying, and tracing microorganisms in food, addressing both good food-borne microbes, such as those used for fermentation and in probiotics, and harmful ones responsible for foodborne illness and food quality control problems.
More Than Just Food by
Publication Date: 2016-02-09
The industrial food system has created a crisis in the United States that is characterized by abundant food for privileged citizens and food deserts for the historically marginalized.In response, food justice activists based in low-income communities of color have developed community-based solutions, arguing that activities like urban agriculture, nutrition education, and food-related social enterprises can drive systemic social change.Highlighting the work of several food justice groups including Community Services Unlimited, a South Los Angeles organization founded as the nonprofit arm of the Southern California Black Panther Party "More Than Just Food"explores the possibilities and limitations of the community-based approach, offering a networked examination of the food justice movement in the age of the nonprofit industrial complex. " Summary taken from the book.
Religion, Regulation, Consumption by
Publication Date: 2018-02-28
This book explores the emergence and expansion of global kosher and halal markets with a particular focus on the UK and Denmark. Summary taken from book.
Publication Date: 2017-09-08
Snacks" is a history of Canadian snack foods, of the independent producers and workers who make them, and of the consumers who can't put them down. Summary taken from book.
Health Source - Consumer Edition
This database provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. It provides access to nearly 80 consumer health magazines.
Database of research covering all areas of medicine, health care, and pharmacology.
ProQuest SciTech Collection
This huge database is "the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more."
PubMed is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 24 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to over 3 million full text articles and other related resources.
Web of Science
One of the world's leading literature sources in the sciences, social sciences, biology, arts and humanities. Also includes proceedings from conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops and conventions.
FDA Food Safety
U.S. government agency.
Food Quality and Safety
Food Quality & Safety’s mission is to advise all levels of quality and safety decision makers in food manufacturing, food service/retail, agriculture, and regulatory and research institutions on strategic and tactical approaches required in a rapidly changing food market. Content examines regulations, products, technologies, methods, and philosophies. Launched in 1994 as Food Quality, Food Quality & Safety magazine has remained a catalyst that unites industry professionals.
New Food Magazine
Content includes industry news, articles, videos, podcasts and white papers.