LibGuides: Physics: Articles and Databases

Recommended Databases

These databases are great places to look to find information about Physics. Check out the Databases page on the Galvin Library website to see a full list of databases.

American Physical Society
Journals published by the American Physical Society, including Physical Review Letters, Physical Review X, Physical Review, and Reviews of Modern Physics.
ProQuest SciTech Collection
The ProQuest SciTech Collection is a database providing access to scientific and technical literature across various disciplines. It offers full-text articles, abstracts, and citations from journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports in fields such as engineering, computer science, physics, and environmental science.
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
IOP - Institute of Physics Journals
IOP is one of the leading publishers in physics and provides a search for over 50 journals. Contains many subjects within and outside of physics including astrophysics, mathematics, atomic physics, nuclear physics, and earth science.

NOTE: The Galvin Library does not have access to IOP material published during or after 2015. In order to access current IOP material please use MyILL.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database offering full-text access to thousands of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, and other publications across a wide range of academic disciplines, including social science, humanities, computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, and more. A good place to begin researching a topic.
arXiv.org
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ArXiv is an e-print service with an extensive, searchable collection of mathematics, physics, quantitative biology, statistics, and computer science papers beginning in 1991.
CERN Document Server
Preprints, articles, books, journals, and photographs on particle physics and related subjects.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a database containing millions of doctoral dissertations and master's theses from universities around the world. It provides researchers with access to original scholarly work across numerous disciplines, offering full-text downloads for many recent submissions and abstracts for older works, making it an essential resource for in-depth academic research and literature reviews. 
ScienceDirect
Full text scientific research database focusing on science, technology and medicine while also stocking certain humanities publications.
AIP Publishing (Scitation)
Citations and abstracts for approximately 300 journals and proceedings in a broad range of fields including: all areas of physics, materials science, nanotechnology, biological physics, and astronomy. Created by the American Institute of Physics (AIP).
SPIRES-HEP
Stanford hosted database with over half a million articles related to high energy physics. In depth information on experiments, journals, conferences, and institutions.

NOTE: Database changed name to inSPIRE HEP
SpringerLink
Provides electronic access to the complete contents of a growing collection of SpringerLink journals in subjects including Mathematics and Computer Science (formerly Kluwer Journals).
Web of Science Web of Science is a multidisciplinary citation indexing database that provides coverage of high-impact scholarly literature across the sciences, technology, engineering, and math. It offers powerful tools for tracking research trends, analyzing citation networks, and evaluating research impact. 
Wiley Online Library
Publishers of 1500 journals, Wiley Online Library hosts a broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

How-to Guides

Find Articles on the Library Website
A step by step guide on finding articles on a topic or from your reading list.
Quick guide to databases
This guide briefly explains how to find and use the right database for your subject.
Find scholarly articles
This FAQ explains what scholarly articles are and shows a few ways to find them.
Download Full Text Articles from Library Databases
This PDF details how to access library e-resources such as journal databases and e-books when you are not on campus.