Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These databases are great places to look to find information about philosophy. Check out the Databases page to see a full list of databases.
Academic Search Complete
Contains more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, the majority being peer-reviewed journals. It also provides an index to additional journals, books, reports, and conference proceedings. It covers a wide range of topics and is a good place to start researching a topic.
JSTOR (Journal STORage) is an archive of important scholarly journals in a variety of subject related to the humanities, physical sciences, and social sciences. JSTOR is not the place to search for the most current research, but overall is an excellent multidisciplinary database containing articles from many essential peer-reviewed sources.
This database is an authoritative source for scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health . Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO covers all aspects of psychology and includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Search Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a popular way to search for scholarly articles, reports, books and more. You can connect Google Scholar to IIT's libraries from the library links section under settings. This way, when you find an article you'd like to read you will be able to see if we have the article or be directed to MyILL to request it.
To get your sources together before writing, we recommend using the citation management software Zotero. It's very easy to use, it;s fast and free, and Zotero for Firefox does not require local admin privileges to install. You can install it on the library's computers, but it will be deleted when you log off. Zotero Standalone is available for Mac OSX, Windows, and Linux. Zotero Standalone has plug-ins available for Chrome & Safari. Plug-ins available for You can set up an account for online syncing, and it has an add-in for Microsoft Word and OpenOffice.
You should be aware that Zotero is browser specific: works with Chrome FireFox and Safari, but not Internet Explorer. Syncing is not the same as backing up your data. Zotero recommends that if you are working on a large document, you back up your library file manually. Zotero Standalone requires local admin rights on your computer to install, so you will not be able to install it on lab or library computers.Online sync is view-only, no editing.Only a few citation formats are supported, but they are the most common ones (for example, ACS is not supported).
Head of Reference and Instruction Services
, Art and Architectural History
, Digital Humanities
, International Library Services