Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Illinois Tech Library Guides
These databases are great places to look to find information about Literature. Check out the Databases page to see a full list of databases.
Academic Search Complete
Contains more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, the majority being peer-reviewed journals. It also provides an index to additional journals, books, reports, and conference proceedings. It covers a wide range of topics and is a good place to start researching a topic.
JSTOR (Journal STORage) is an archive of important scholarly journals in a variety of subject related to the humanities, physical sciences, and social sciences. JSTOR is not the place to search for the most current research, but overall is an excellent multidisciplinary database containing articles from many essential peer-reviewed sources.
Dissertations and Theses
Online database of doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Full-text is available for many items, and ordering/purchasing information is included for those items with no full-text.
Online archive of issues of Harper's Weekly, one of America's leading 19th-century illustrated newspapers. Access is available from 1857-1912.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Online collection of 150,000 books published during the 18th century, covering the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Open-Access Text Archive
This site features a wide selection of e-books that have been contributed from publishers, universities, and individuals. Most of the texts are in DJVU or PDF format. Free to read, download, and print.
Project Gutenberg Consortia Center's provides access to over 60,000 e-books. You won't find the latest best sellers or modern computer books at Project Gutenberg, but it does contain works that are in the public domain including classics of literature from authors such as Shakespeare, Poe, Dante, and many more.
OAIster is a searchable online catalog of digital resources, including digitized (i.e., scanned) books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files (e.g., wav, mp3), images (e.g., tiff, gif), movies (e.g., mp4, quicktime), and datasets (e.g., downloadable statistics files).
Search Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a popular way to search for scholarly articles, reports, books and more. You can connect Google Scholar to IIT's libraries from the library links section of Scholar Preferences. This way, when you find an article you'd like to read you will be able to see if we have the article or be directed to MyILL to request it.
Online Learning and Instruction Librarian