Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History of Black History Month
American president Gerald Ford officially recognized Black History Month in 1976 although there were earlier celebrations such as Carter G. Woodson's Negro History Week established in 1926. Black History Month, also known as African American History Month, is an annual celebration observed February 1 through March 1 in the United States.
Along the Streets of Bronzeville by
Publication Date: 2013-09-10
This book examines the flowering of African American creativity, activism, and scholarship in the South Side Chicago district known as Bronzeville during the period between the Harlem Renaissance in the 1920s and the Black Arts Movement of the 1960s. Summary taken from book.
Black Girl Magic Beyond the Hashtag by
Publication Date: 2019-09-24
Black Girl Magic Beyond the Hashtag shows how Black girls and women foster community, counter invisibility, engage in restorative acts, and create spaces for freedom. Intersectional and interdisciplinary, the contributions in this volume bridge generations and collectively push the boundaries of Black feminist thought. Summary taken from book.
Black Samson by
Publication Date: 2020-07-01
In Black Samson: The Untold Story of an American Icon, Nyasha Junior and Jeremy Schipper investigate legal documents, narratives by enslaved persons, speeches, sermons, periodicals, poetry, fiction, and visual arts to tell the unlikely story of how a flawed biblical hero became an iconic figure in America’s racial history. Summary taken from book.
Carter G. Woodson by
Publication Date: 2017-09-25
Historian Carter G. Woodson's employment of the black press and modern public-relations techniques to preserve and popularize black history during the first half of the 20th century is rediscovered and examined in this study. Summary taken from book.
Frederick Douglass by
Publication Date: 2018-02-14
From his enslavement to freedom, Frederick Douglass was one of America's most extraordinary champions of liberty and equality. Throughout his long life, Douglass was also a man of profound religious conviction. In this concise and original biography, D. H. Dilbeck offers a provocative interpretation of Douglass's life through the lens of his faith. Summary taken from book.
Jumping the Broom by
Publication Date: 2020-11-09
In this definitive history of a unique tradition, Tyler D. Parry untangles the convoluted history of the "broomstick wedding." Summary taken from the book.
Race, Religion, and Black Lives Matter by
Publication Date: 2021-08-15
Black Lives Matter, like its predecessor movements, embodies flesh and blood through local organizing, national and global protests, hunger strikes, and numerous acts of civil disobedience. Summary taken from book.
Real Heroes by
Publication Date: 2016-09-27
Each chapter contains a short biography of heroes from different walks of life including: Harriet Tubman, Jesse Owens, Althea Gibson, Joe Louis as well as a chapter devoted to black entrepreneurs.
Slavery and Emancipation by
Publication Date: 2002-11-08
Slavery and Emancipation is a comprehensive collection of primary and secondary readings on the history of slaveholding in the American South combining recent historical research with period documents. Summary taken from book.
Black History Month
The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of African Americans who struggled with adversity to achieve full citizenship in American society.
Black Metropolis Research Consortium (BMRC) Archives Portal
This archival collection allows users to explore collections highlighting the Black experience in Chicago.
Britannica: Black History Month
he Black History Month entry includes an article, fast facts and videos.
The DuSable Museum of African American Hisotry
Located in Chicago this museum is the nation's oldest independent museum celebrating African American culture.
The History Channel: Black History Month
Find articles, photo, videos, a timeline and more Black History Month resources on this website.
National Archives & Records Administration-African American Heritage
Historical resources, such as military records and photographs, related to African American history.
National Museum of African American History & Culture
NMAAHC is the only national museum in the Untied States focused solely on African American history and culture.
Recommended Print Books
James Baldwin: Collected Essays (LOA #98) by
Publication Date: 1998-02-01
his book offers a comprehensive gathering of Baldwin's nonfiction works that articulate issues of race, democracy, and American identity.
Native Son (Abridged) by
Publication Date: 2003-09-30
Set in Chicago in the 1930s, Richard Wright's novel is just as powerful today as when it was written -- in its reflection of poverty and hopelessness, and what it means to be black in America. Summary taken from book.
The print books can be found on the upper level of Galvin Library. If you need assistance finding a print book on the shelf, stop by the Research Help Desk located at the top of the stairs.
Contact the Research Help Office
or visit our office on the upper level of the Galvin Library