Ethics of Emerging Technologies: Home

Off-campus access requires you to enter your IIT ID information.

This multidisciplinary database provides excellent coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Major areas of coverage include agricultural biotechnology; air quality; aquatic pollution; bacteriology; ecology; energy resources; environmental biotechnology; environmental engineering; environmental impact statements (U.S.) ; hazardous waste; industrial hygiene; microbiology related to industrial & environmental issues; pollution: land, air, water, noise, solid waste, radioactive; risk assessment; safety science; toxicology & toxic emissions; water pollution; waste management; water resource issues.
The CSA Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management databasecontains the following indexes: ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality, Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B), Biotechnology Research Abstracts, Ecology Abstracts, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, Health and Safety Science Abstracts, Human Population & Natural Resource Management, Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A), Pollution Abstracts, Risk Abstracts, Sustainability Science Abstracts, Toxicology Abstracts, Water Resources Abstracts

"This comprehensive database provides a single mega-file of all the unique records available through its 3 components: the CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database. The database content represents the most comprehensive and current coverage of the relevant serial and non-serial literature available. Sources covered include over 4,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases."
Includes the following indexes: Advanced Polymers Abstracts, Aerospace & High Technology Database, Aluminium Industry Abstracts, ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering, Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts, Composites Industry Abstracts, Computer and Information Systems Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, CSA Engineering Research Database, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA / ASCE Civil Engineering Abstracts, Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Electronics and Communications Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Ceramics, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, Materials Business File, Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts, METADEX, Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts, WELDASEARCH

Inspec, created by the IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers), is the leading bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. INSPEC also provides significant coverage in related disciplines such as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering and many more. This database indexes ACM, IEEE, and SIAM publications, so it's a good one-stop search interface.

SciFinder is the premier research tool for chemical, biological, biomedical, and related scientific information. It includes:

* Patent and journal references. Over 36 million references to more than 9,000 scientific and technical journals from 1907 to the present.
* Substance information. More than 23 million organic and inorganic substances and more than 43 million sequences.
* Regulated chemicals. Provides information on more than 200,000 inventoried or regulated chemicals.
* Chemical reactions. Information about more than 8 million single- and multi-step reactions from 1840 to the present.
* Chemical supplier information. Provides information about more than 7 million commercially available chemicals and their worldwide suppliers.

To use SciFinder, you will need to download and install the client software on your local computer.

Web of Science provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high-impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, you can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to your research. The citation index allows you to see (a) all the references cited by the article, and (b) what other articles have cited the article. This is a good database to use if you have an article of interest and want to expand your search to related documents. Links to related articles are provided.
Note: Limited to three (3) concurrent users