University Archives and Special Collections permits photography of collection material for personal research use. Reference and publication quality digital scans can also be requested from archives staff. Some materials may not be reproduced due to physical condition, copyright, or donor restrictions. Galvin Library does not provide photocopiers for patron use.
Reproductions are made based on staff availability, and may not be available on the same day they are requested. Scans can be delivered via email or in person on a patron’s provided USB drive or other storage device.
We prefer researchers use IIT-provided publication quality scans over personal photography. Providing a reproduction does not automatically grant permission to publish. Copyright on much of our collections is not held by IIT. We will advise on copyright, but ultimately determining copyright status of collection materials is the responsibility of the researcher. We will alert you if the donor has placed any additional restriction on the collection.
Please credit: "University Archives and Special Collections, Paul V. Galvin Library, Illinois Institute of Technology"
Reference quality images (pdf/jpeg): $1 per image
Publication quality images (high-resolution tiff files): $10 per image
For reproduction requests for large format, audio/visual, or other non-standard materials, please email email@example.com.
Payment is submitted through the pay site once the job is complete. We will not accept cash in the reading room.
Reproduction fees may be waived at the discretion of University Archives and Special Collections staff based on the size of the project and university affiliation.