LibGuides: Anthropology: Articles and Databases

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete Contains more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, the majority being peer-reviewed journals. It also provides an index to additional journals, books, reports, and conference proceedings. It covers a wide range of topics and is a good place to start researching a topic.

Article First
Coverage of over 16,000 journal titles related to business, science, humanities, social sciences, medicine, technology, and popular culture.
Harper's Weekly
Online archive of this once-popular 19th-century newspaper.
JSTOR Archive of essential scholarly journals related to the humanities, physical sciences, and social sciences.
MIT Press Direct
MIT Press Direct is the best way for libraries to offer MIT Press eBooks to their patrons. Key subject areas covered in the complete collection include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
This database allows users to simultaneously search the contents of over 60 online encyclopedias. Topics covered include African American Studies, Aging & Gerontology, Anthropology, Business & Management, Communication & Media Studies, Counseling & Psychotherapy, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Environment, Family Studies, Gender & Sexuality Studies, Geography, Health & Social Welfare, History, Politics, Psychology, Research Methods & Evaluation, Social Issues, Social Work & Social Policy, and Sociology
Web of Science Comprehensive index of journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, biology, arts and humanities.

Citation Management

To get your sources together before writing, we recommend using the citation management software Zotero. It's very easy to use, it;s fast and free, and Zotero for Firefox does not require local admin privileges to install. You can install it on the library's computers, but it will be deleted when you log off. Zotero Standalone is available for Mac OSX, Windows, and Linux. Zotero Standalone has plug-ins available for Chrome & Safari. Plug-ins available for You can set up an account for online syncing, and it has an add-in for Microsoft Word and OpenOffice.

You should be aware that Zotero is browser specific: works with Chrome FireFox and Safari, but not Internet Explorer. Syncing is not the same as backing up your data. Zotero recommends that if you are working on a large document, you back up your library file manually. Zotero Standalone requires local admin rights on your computer to install, so you will not be able to install it on lab or library computers.Online sync is view-only, no editing.Only a few citation formats are supported, but they are the most common ones (for example, ACS is not supported).

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a popular way to search for scholarly articles, reports, books and more. You can connect Google Scholar to IIT's libraries from the library links section under settings. This way, when you find an article you'd like to read you will be able to see if we have the article or be directed to MyILL to request it.

Library Search Tool

The library search tool allows you to simultaneously search multiple platforms for articles, books, videos and more. You can find the search box on the library's website.