Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Illinois Tech Library Guides
Set up an IIT Libraries account Drop by the GRC and ask to see a librarian, or send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org. Accounts can be set up after hours or on the weekend at the Galvin Library Circulation Desk.
Set up an I-Share account Circulating materials can be borrowed through I-Share, an online catalog that allows 24/7 access to the collections of CARLI's more than 76 academic libraries.
Set up an account with MyILL to borrow books from institutions outside I-Share, via WorldCat.
Teaching Assistants Your TA can check out books or submit reserves on your behalf. To create a proxy account for your TA, visit Galvin Library Circulation, or email email@example.com. Galvin offers a guide for Teaching Assistants here.
If you're having difficulty with any of these account set-ups, or have a general question about accessing resources, refer to the FAQ box to the left of this one.
The GRC offers instruction for individuals and groups large or small. We tailor instruction to suit the problem at hand, from the nuts and bolts of using filters in a precedent study to more nebulous issues such as intellectual property. Library resources (such as external databases) can be poorly designed and counterintuitive, so we are always happy to guide users in using these powerful research tools. Please contact Head of Library Kim Soss to arrange instruction for a student, a class, or yourself: firstname.lastname@example.org.
Generally, CoA Faculty use up to three kinds of reserves:
Only circulating items from the GRC's collection can be placed on reserve; please submit reserve requests at least a week prior to classes beginning. Faculty should email class reserve lists for circulating items in the GRC's collection to both the Library Head and Architecture Librarian (email@example.com and firstname.lastname@example.org). Please allow up to two business days for these items to be pulled and updated in the catalog before your students will need them on the shelves.
Book reserves from Galvin's collections must be reserved using their online request form.
E-Reserves should be uploaded via BlackBoard; more information available here: http://library.iit.edu/faculty/services/new-faculty.
IIT Graduate College Thesis Manual
ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million large-file art and architecture images with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images. Access is restricted to IIT students, faculty, and staff.
MADCAD is a reference database containing building codes, knowledge-based design solutions, and guidelines to meet the codes. MADCAD provides access to cross-referenced collections of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ICBO, ICC, and NFPA. Beyond compiling national standards, it gives you immediate access to comprehensive state and local codes. Only accessible to IIT users.
JSTOR archives historical peer-reviewed materials and makes them available as full texts. Architectural highlights include The Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians (1945-2005), Winterthur Portfolio (1964-2007), and Perspecta (1952-2003). JSTOR is only available on campus computers or with a valid IIT log in.
Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names
Hierarchical thesaurus of nearly 900,000 places. "The TGN provides vernacular and English names of places, variant names in other languages, and whenever possible, historical names. The record for a place may also contain geographical coordinates, dates, and notes."
Getty Art & Architecture Thesaurus
The AAT is a structured vocabulary relating to architecture, fine arts, and related topics. Useful in defining the best term for a search, related topics, and the history of a term's use.
Should one search for Brutalist, Brutalism, or Neo-Brutalist?
Find the answer in the AAT.
Archive Grid searches thousands of archives worldwide for content, taking the researcher beyond the obvious choices. For example, you can research Paul Rudolph at the Yale Archives, but you can also discover an audio recording from 1966 at MOMA, correspondence with Peter Blake at Columbia University, and Henry Proskauer's clipping collection on Rudolph at the Getty Research Institute. This resource must be accessed from a library computer.
CumInCAD is a cumulative index of publications about computer aided architectural design. It includes bibliographic information about over 6.000 papers from journals and conferences such as ACADIA, CAADRIA, ECAADE, SIGRADI, CAAD Futures and others. All papers include full abstracts. Full texts of some 3.500 papers are also available, however, only to eCAADe members.
Built Works Registry
The Built Works Registry (BWR) is a collaborative project funded by a 2010 Institute of Museum and Library Services Grant. The goal of BWR is to create and develop a freely available registry of architectural works and the built environment. The BWR seeks to assist with providing a unique identifier for specific built works. The Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library at Columbia University, Artstor and the Getty Research Institute (GRI) are the principal collaborators for this project.