LibGuides: Computer & Information Ethics: Teaching Resources

Ethics Centers

Educational Resources from the Online Ethics Center for Engineering and Science
This section of the Online Ethics Center provides advice and ideas for integrating ethics into engineering courses. Includes example cases for discussion, essays, and sample syllabi.
The Research Center on Computers and Society
This center located at Southern Connecticut State University includes a number of articles and links to resources for educators interested in incorporating ethics into their courses.

Case Studies

Along with these two collections of case studies, be sure to look in the news for cases that you may be able to adapt for use in your course.

Ethics Education Library - Computer Science Cases
A collection of over 75 cases on various computer and information science ethics. Searchable by topic and keyword.
Computing Cases
A collection of cases looking at issues of computing ethics.
Princeton Dialogues on AI and Ethics
A collection of case studies looking at AI systems and their deployment in society. Includes case studies in the area of computer science, healthcare, law enforcement, human resources and the public sector. Includes a teaching guide.

Journals, Anthologies, and Other Resources

Ethics and Information Technology
Ethics and Information Technology is a peer-reviewed journal dedicated to advancing the dialogue between moral philosophy and the field of information and communication technology (ICT).
Ethcis Education Library
This resource, under development by the Center for the Study Ethics in the Professions, is a database of materials for instructors interested in developing ethics education programs or courses.
IEEE Technology and Society Magazine
Published by the Institute for Electrical and Electronics Engineers, this magazine examines the impact of technology on society, the impact of society on the engineering profession, and responsibilities of engineers to the profession and the public.

Books

Integrating Computer Ethics Across the Curriculum by Ben-Jacob, Marion G.
Call Number: CSEP.QA76.9.M65I584x2004
ISBN: Computer Ethics Across the Curriculum
Publication Date: 2004
A collection of pedagogical tools to facilitate the integration of computer ethics into different curricula in higher education. A workbook/manual developed for a workshop held on August 12-14, 2002 at Mercy College, Dobbs Ferry, NY.
Computer Ethics by Deborah G. Johnson
Call Number: CSEP.QA76.9.M65J642001
ISBN: 0130836990
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
CyberEthics by Richard A. Spinello
ISBN: 0763737836
Publication Date: 2006-02-22

Articles & More

Interested in reading more about the use of case studies in teaching engineering ethics? Check out this bibliography on writing, adapting, and leading case study discussions.

Librarian

Kelly Laas

Email Me

Contact:

Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions
10 W. 35th Street
2nd Floor

312-567-6913

Subjects: Ethics