LibGuides: Teaching Assistants and the Library: Books/Articles

Finding articles

You can use the search bar on the library's website to look for articles and other materials across multiple platforms. This guide will help you learn the basics of the library search tool.

If you prefer to search individual databases for articles you can choose one from our A-Z database list. From the A-Z list you can then filter databases by subject, type and vendor.

Interlibrary loan

Interlibrary loan is a free service that allows you to borrow books or request articles from other institutions. Learn more about this service here.

Print Books

First Day to Final Grade, Third Edition by Anne Curzan; Lisa Damour
ISBN: 9780472034512
Publication Date: 2011-02-04
A grad student's guide to becoming a teacher. Covers weekly class preparation, running a discussion, designing student assignments, grading, balancing school and teaching and more.

E-Books

57 Ways to Screw up in Grad School by Kevin D. Haggerty; Aaron Doyle
ISBN: 9780226280875
Publication Date: 2015-08-15
Although the tone is engagingly tongue-in-cheek, the lessons are crucial to anyone attending or contemplating grad school. 57 Ways to Screw Up in Grad School allows you to learn from others' mistakes rather than making them yourself.
Project Management for Research by Adedeji B. Badiru; Christina F. Rusnock; Vhance V. Valencia
ISBN: 9781482299113
Publication Date: 2016-03-09
This book helps graduate students and advisors answer most of the basic questions of conducting and presenting graduate research, thereby alleviating frustration on the part of both student and advisor. It presents specific guidelines and examples throughout the text along with more detailed examples in reader-friendly appendices at the end. By being more organized and prepared to handle basic research management functions, graduate students, along with their advisors, will have more time for actual intellectual mentoring and knowledge transfer, resulting in a more rewarding research experience. Summary taken from book.
Teaching Matters by Aeron Haynie; Stephanie Spong
ISBN: 9781952271557
Publication Date: 2022-06-01
A practical and evidence-based teaching guide for graduate students across all fields
The Together Teacher by Marin Smith (As told to); Maia Heyck-Merlin; Maggie G. Sorby (As told to)
ISBN: 9781119542599
Publication Date: 2021-06-22
Teaching is a tough job, period. With so much pressure and so many competing demands, it can be easy to fall apart, or to get lost in the daily grind. The Together Teacher: Plan Ahead, Get Organized, and Save Time! is a practical resource that shows teachers how to get it together, to be effective and have a life! Summary taken from book.

Databases

A-Z List
Link to an A-Z list of Galvin Library's electronic resources.

Finding Books

Galvin Library's collection contains both print and e-books. This guide will show you how to find both types of books in our collection as well as how to get books that we don't have.

Finding Media

A guide to finding free media and using it ethically.