Information Technology & Management (ITM)

Why databases? Well, you’re already using a database whenever you search online. Google, Google Scholar, Yahoo!, DuckDuckGo, Baidu, Yandex: they’re all databases. The databases listed below are specialized research databases with powerful tools to help you focus your search. To learn more, see our guide “Going Beyond Google.”

All of the library's research databases are accessible from our fully searchable and filterable A to Z database list. There are three filters at the top of that page to help you select the most appropriate resources:

1. Subject. Use this to select only those resources relevant to your subject area.
2. Type. Use this to select only certain types of resources, like journal articles, books, videos, data, etc. Some of the most commonly used information types are:
   • Articles & Research Papers
   • Case Studies
   • Codes & Standards
   • Data & Datasets
   • Product Information & Specifications
3. Vendor. Use this to select only free publicly accessible sources OR sources provided by a specific publisher.

The padlock icons indicate the level of free public access to each resource in the database list:

=Content is open access (OA) or otherwise freely accessible. Some sites may require a free personal account.

=Content is mainly open access (OA). Some, usually older, content may be restricted to Illinois Tech or paywalled.

=Free to search, but content is likely to be paywalled or restricted to Illinois Tech students, faculty, or staff.

=Access is restricted to Illinois Tech students, faculty, and staff.