LibGuides: Psychology: Articles and Databases

Psychology Databases

APA PsycINFO
PsycINFO will likely be the primary database for your research. It is referred to as an "abstracting and indexing database," so it extensively covers both psychology-specific journals and interdisciplinary fields. Take advantage of the many search fields to find targeted results.
Business Source Complete
I-O students often use Business Source Premier. It contains scholarly articles published in organizational behavior or work-related journals that aren't found in PsycINFO.
DSM-5 Library
Includes: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition, DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formation Interview, Guia De Consulta De Los Criterios Diagnosticos Del DSM-5
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center via EBSCO
Contains literature on all aspects of education and teaching.
Google Scholar
Considered simpler to search than the library databases, but more difficult to find targeted results.
Psychological Experiments Online
See video clips and other images of famous experiments, such as the Stanford Prison Study.
PubMed
PubMed is useful for locating medical and psychiatric literature, particularly for students in Clinical Psychology.
SocioMetrics
Find datasets and program instructional plans here.

Complete listing of databases
See an A-Z listing of approximately 180 databases.

Open Access Resources

What is open access? Articles that are published as "open access" are just that - openly and freely accessible to anyone with an Internet connection, regardless of institutional affiliation. These resources complement the subscription-based resources detailed in the Psychology Databases box. Keep these resources in mind as you near graduation, because you can access them without a school subscription, unlike the databases listed above.

BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine
Searches only open-access journal articles - use this if you're frustrated about finding articles in Google Scholar that you can't access.

CiteSeer
Includes open access articles as well as tools that make finding similar articles easy.

Digital Commons Network
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
Click on the discipline wheel to refine your search.
The Directory of Open Access Journals
The Directory of Open Access Journals is a service that indexes high quality, peer-reviewed Open Access research journals, periodicals and their articles' metadata.
eScholarship (University of California)
eScholarship provides Open-Access scholarly publishing services to the University of California and delivers a dynamic research platform to scholars worldwide. Powered by the California Digital Library.
SocArXiv
Includes social science pre-prints and some published versions of social science articles.
SSOAR
The Social Science Open Access Repository contains both pre- and post-print articles from a wide range of the social sciences. It is certified by the German Initiative for Networked Information (DINI). It has both English and foreign language publications.
SSRN - Social Science Research Network
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. Each of SSRN's networks encourages the early distribution of research results by reviewing and distributing submitted abstracts and by soliciting abstracts of top quality research papers around the world.
OpenStax Psychology
he book offers a comprehensive treatment of core concepts, grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research. The text also includes coverage of the DSM-5 in examinations of psychological disorders. Psychology incorporates discussions that reflect the diversity within the discipline, as well as the diversity of cultures and communities across the globe.

International Sources

African Index Medicus
Index to information published about or in Africa.
Wanfang Data
Includes Chinese medical journals.
Global Index Medicus
Search available regional databases from the World Health Organization.
LILACS
Health information for Latin America and the Caribbean.
Social Care Online
Based in the UK, includes information on social care and social work.

How do I know if a journal is "good?"

The ranking of journals is subjective, so there's no one authoritative list of the "best" journals. Asking your professors which journal(s) they recommend for your research is a good strategy, and there are many other tools that attempt to rank journals based on different algorithms. One such tool is the Eigen Factor ranking:

Eigen Factor