LibGuides: Publishing Responsibly: Additional Tools & Resources for Authors

Responsible Conduct of Research

The following resources provide a much deeper dive into the issues around publishing ethics and misconduct.

Best Practice Guidelines on Research Integrity and Publishing Ethics
Wiley, one of the world's largest publishers of scholarly journals, has developed best practice guidelines to support all those involved in scholarly publishing with a summary of best practice guidance with respect to editorial policies regarding research integrity and publishing ethics.
Elsevier Policy on Publishing Ethics
Elsevier's publishing ethics outline guidelines and standards for ethical behavior in the publication process, addressing issues like authorship, plagiarism, data fabrication, conflicts of interest, and peer review integrity to ensure the quality and credibility of scholarly work.
Research ethics, publication ethics and good practice guidelines | EQUATOR Network
This is a list of links to research and publication ethics resources managed by the EQUATOR network.

Use these tools to identify high-quality open access journals or repositories.

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ can also be used as a "whitelist" by researchers wishing to identify high quality open access journals to publish their research.
OpenDOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories)
OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. We host repositories that provide free, open access to academic outputs and resources. Each repository record within OpenDOAR has been carefully reviewed and processed by a member of our editorial team which enables us to offer a trusted service for the community.

Purdue OWL
The Purdue Online Writing Lab has developed an extensive number of resources discussing how to avoid plagiarism, how to correctly paraphrase and summarize, and how to properly cite sources for various disciplines.
Zotero
Create personal collections of online documents, add notes and tags, export citations. Very simple to use. Also see our research guide about Zotero:
Editorial Freelancers Association (EFA)
The online EFA member directory offers clients free and instant access to the diverse assortment of highly skilled publishing professionals who make up EFA membership. The free EFA job listing service offers clients another way to find the right freelancer for the job.