Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Illinois Tech Library Guides
Resources for International Students
如何写论文 (Research Paper Guide in Mandarin Chinese)
A general guide to writing research papers, in Mandarin Chinese, with links to University resources.
IIT International Student Library Guide
An introduction to the many resources Galvin Library offers International Students, this guide provides an overview of the library, language resources, announces classes and workshops, and provides contact information for the International Student Library Services Liaison.
Cultural Differences in Plagiarism
The following documents contain information on plagiarism from a cultural standpoint.
Citation Management Toolbox
Galvin Guide to Zotero and EndNoteWeb
This is a quick-start guide to getting you up and running using two citation management tools: Zotero and EndNoteWeb.
Zotero (Highly recommended)
Create personal collections of online documents, add notes and tags, and export citations. This Firefox tool is free and very simple to use.
This Web-based version of the popular software manages citations & references, and creates bibliographies online.
IIT Academic Integrity Resources
The Writing Center at IIT
Located in Siegel Hall 232-233, the Writing Center provides help with writing assignments for both graduate and undergraduate students, whether they are native or nonnative speakers of English. There are sign-up sheets on site, and when possible, the Writing Center also accepts students on a walk-in basis without an appointment. Faculty may also use a referral form to request that a student visit the center.
Writing Center Referral Form (for Faculty Use)
Faculty can use this form when requiring students in need of tutoring to set up an appointment at the Writing Center.
Plagiarism and Avoiding It
This page, developed by the Communication Across the Curriculum Initiative at IIT, gives a concise description of what plagiarism is, how to avoid it, and provides links to other resources about the writing process.
Writing Style Guides
Style Guides for writing academic papers. As the standard way for citing sources often differs between disciplines, ask your professor which citation style he or she prefers.
APA Style Guide
The APA Style Guide (American Psychological Association) is most used in the social sciences. The link will take you to an overview of APA style provided by Purdue's Online Writing Center. A print copy of the book is available in Galvin Library, Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, REF.BF76.7.P832010
The MLA Style (Modern Language Association) is the most common form used for citing sources in the liberal arts and humanities. The above link will take you to an overview of MLA Style developed by Purdue's Online Writing Lab. Galvin Library has a print copy of MLA Handbook for Research Paper Writers, REF.LB2369.G532009
Chicago Manual of Style
The Chicago Manual of Style is used by many disciplines, both in the humanities and in the sciences. The link takes you to some examples of how to cite sources put together by the publisher of this volume. A print edition of the Chicago Manual of Style available at Galvin Library, REF.Z253.U692003
Web Articles & Tutorials on Plagiarism
Academic Plagiarism Defined
This essay by Dr. Irving Hexman of the University of Calgary, gives a very clear definition of plagiarism, and examples of common types of plagiarism that often appear in student papers.
Discussions about what constitutes plagiarism, its prevalence in academia, and recognizing instances of plagiarism.
Gaming Against Plagiarism
Gaming Against Plagiarism is a set of three games that have been developed by the University of Florida to introduce students to what is meant by plagiarism, fabrication, and falsification. An amusing, interactive way of learning more about this topic
Avoiding plagiarism, self-plagiarism, and other questionable writing practices: A guide to ethical writing
This online tutorial, developed by Dr. Miguel Roig of St. John's University seeks to help students become aware of ethical writing practices and to avoid plagiarism.
Plagiarism in Perspectives on the Professions Newsletter
A volume of the Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions newsletter, Perspectives on the Professions, focusing on plagiarism.
A bibliography on plagiarism in academic publishing.
Developed by the San Jose Public Library, this simple tutorial introduces you to different types of plagarism, and the proper way to cite original sources. This tutorial is a light-hearted way to get general idea of of how to avoid plagorizing in assignments.
Retraction Watch is a site that follows the retractions of papers from major scholarly journals as a window into the scientific process. This site is also an interesting window into the types of plagiarism that can occur in academe, and the final consequences when a scholar is found guilty of plagiarism.
What is Plagiarism?
This short quiz, developed by Indiana University's School of Education, asks you to identify instances of plagiarism.
University of Alberta - Preventing Plagarism
A guide put together by the University of Alberta Libraries that gives a number of helpful hints on how to prevent plagiarism in your class, including teaching students about what is meant by the term on the first day.
Developed by Purdue University's writing center, this site has some extremely good resources you can share with students about how to correctly cite sources and avoid unintentional plagiarism.