Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Illinois Tech Library Guides
Building Typologies on the Web
Housing Prototypes contains examples of housing from a variety of architects, historic periods, countries, and cities. Projects range in scale from single buildings to examples of large social housing projects containing thousands of dwellings.
Tensinet’s project database is well organized and highly granular; projects are searchable by four methods (cable-net, pneu,hybrid, and membrane).
A database of works of civil engineering as well as architecture, with a focus on those works of specific interest in their structural conception, both contemporary and historical.
The Skyscraper Museum
Through exhibitions, programs and publications, the Museum explores tall buildings as objects of design, products of technology, sites of construction, investments in real estate, and places of work and residence. The site features comprehensive databases on the construction histories of the Empire State Building and the World Trade Towers, among others.
The Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat
The Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat, based at IIT, studies and reports on all aspects of the planning, design, and construction of tall buildings.
Prefab: Some Assembly Required
Content from the Walker Art Museum's 2006 exhibition on contemporary prefabricated housing, the site includes essays, a prefab timeline, video of a panel discussion, and other prefab-related resources.
Church Plans Online
The Incorporated Church Building Society archive spans the period 1818-1982, and covers the whole of England and Wales. It is of national importance as a record of the most significant period in church building since the middle ages and the single largest source for plans of new and existing churches in the country. Many digital images of church plans are available here.
A large and up-to-date guide to classic movie theaters. Currently lists nearly 25,800 theaters, both current and historical, searchable by architect, style, location, seating capacity, and function.