This is the "Home" page of the "Services for Distance Learners" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Illinois Institute of Technology My IIT

Services for Distance Learners  

Last Updated: Jul 18, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.iit.edu/distance Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What services are provided?

It is our goal to provide Distance Education students with services comparable to on campus libary users in the areas of:

  • borrowing materials
  • document delivery
  • reference services

 

 

Welcome

Welcome to Library Services for Distance Education students. Distance Education students are registered/enrolled IIT students who reside outside the state of Illinois and within the continental United States. Students who reside within the state of Illinois, but who do not use library facilities at any of IIT's campuses, should use the nearest I-Share institution to borrow returnable items. Students who are traveling or working internationally can contact the librarian for assistance. For more information, contact Nichole Novak.

 

Read These Tips Before You Start

Librarians often find themselves repeating the same research tips when they meet with students and faculty.  Taking a few minutes to read this list of helpful hints could save you tons of time when you are searching.

1. Always start from the library website or this guide when you want to access a database.  Most databases need to know that you are authorized to access their materials.  When you go to a database's web site it will not be able to identify that you are an approved user.  When you go through an IIT library page you will be able to authenticate correctly and use the database right away.

2. Spend a few minutes test driving a database you've never used before.  Check out the help guides, try a few searches, and see how this database may be different from ones you've used before. 

3. Most databases don't search the way Google searches.  Entering a long phrase such as "how computer automation is used in federal government" in one search box doesn't usually work in a database.  Check the database's help section to learn how to best search that particular database.

3. There is no one perfect search.  Try many searches in many places to find what you are looking for.

4. Take advantage of any "folders" or "lists" available in the database or library catalog.  Use these to keep track of articles or books you will want to read later.  The URL at the top of the page is often a session-specific URL, meaning it will only work that one time. 

5. Does the library not have immediate access to the article or book you want?  We can get you nearly every book or article you want to read using our I-Share catalog for books or MyILL for articles.  These are fast and free services.  Use the box above to create your accounts so you can begin requesting items.

6. Please let us know when you are having any troubles from choosing the best databases to fixing a dead link.  We can't help or fix it if we don't know there's a problem.  See our Ask a Librarian page to contact us by IM, email, phone or in person.

 

Off Campus Access

Most of the library's online resources are available from off-campus. In order to use licensed journals, e-reserves, and databases from non-IIT locations, patrons must first pass through an authentication system. When you click on a restricted resource located on the library's web page, you will automatically be prompted for authorization. Students are required to authenticate by entering their student ID number. Faculty and staff must enter their MyIIT username and password. You will remain logged in until you close your web browser.

However, you can skp the authentication step to access the library's e-resources from off-campus by logging in to MyIIT. Once you have logged in to the IIT portal page, click on the "library e-resources" icon in the upper-right corner. The system will authenticate you and redirect you to the library's Databases page.

If you have any questions or experience problems logging in to library e-resources, click here to Ask a Librarian or call 312.567.3616.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Nichole Novak
Contact Info
Illinois Institute of Technology
Paul V. Galvin Library
35 W. 33rd St.
Chicago, IL 60616

312-567-3613
Send Email
 

Library News

Check out the latest Galvin Library news from our blog.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Questions?

Get help from the Research Help Office (upper level of the library):

phone: (312) 567-3616

email: reference@iit.edu

Ask us with IM:

Available whenever the library is open (Library hours).

 

IM widget

 

 

 

 

 

 

Paul V. Galvin Library   35 W. 33rd Street  Chicago, IL 60616
Phone: 312.567.3616   Fax: 312.567.5318   Email: library@iit.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip