LibGuides: Business & Economics: Get Started

Welcome

This guide is intended to provide key resources and places to begin your research related to business and economics, including:

Company and/or industry research
Scholarly articles, books, and case studies
Magazines and news articles
Data & statistics

Use the tabs on the left to navigate if you have a specific topic you are researching, or start with a general search using one of the recommended databases below.

Recommended Databases

These databases are the ones we recommend for starting a general search on a Business or Economics-related topic. If you have a more specialized information you need, use the navigational tabs to find more specific resources to begin your search.

Business Source Complete
This is IIT's largest business-subject database. It provides full-text coverage of more than 2,200 scholarly business, management and economics journals. More than 10,150 substantial company profiles from MarketLine are also included, as well as case studies, SWOT analyses, Market research reports.
Academic Search Complete
Contains more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, the majority being peer-reviewed journals. It also provides an index to additional journals, books, reports, and conference proceedings. It covers a wide range of topics and is a good place to start researching a topic.

Course Specific Guides

If you're in a particular class and looking for your course guide, select the subject "Business" from our list of LibGuides and find your course number and name.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a popular way to search for scholarly articles, reports, books, and more. Make sure to connect your Google Scholar account directly to your library account to streamline your access to articles.

Search directly below, or click the link to search in the Google Scholar interface.

Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar to search for academic articles in a variety of disciplines. Make sure to link your Google Scholar to your IIT account in order to see when you have immediate access.

Set Up Google Scholar

Screenshot of Google Scholar homepage with arrow pointing to the button to open the right side menu

Open the sidebar menu by clicking on the three lines in the upper left corner

Screenshot with arrow indicating where to find the

Click on "Settings" from the right sidebar menu

Screenshot of Google Scholar indicating where to find the link to

Navigate to your "Library Links" page

Select "Library Links" from the right sidebar menu, and search "Illinois Institute of Technology" in the search bar in the middle of the page.

Screenshot of Google Scholar showing the appropriate boxes checked

Add Illinois Tech's library links

Check the boxes next to "Illinois Institute of Technology - Find Full Text -> IIT" and "ILLINOIS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY - MAIN CAMPUS - ProQuest Fulltext" and hit "Save"

Search for articles

Now when you search for articles, you should see "Find Full Text -> IIT" to the right of some of your results. Click on it to be redirected to the Illinois Tech catalog to access the article.