LibGuides: Business & Economics: Find Company & Industry Information

Company Research

Private Companies
Public Companies

PrivCo
PrivCo is a source for business and financial research on major privately-held companies (MPCs). It combines financial analysis, editorials, market research, and PrivCo's data technology for over 400,000 private companies in the United States.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect provides basic company facts on over 20 million North American companies and over 70 million global companies. Mergent Intellect provides essentially the same information as Hoovers Online using data from Hoovers and Dun and Bradstreet but with additional downloading capabilities not available through Hoovers Online.

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect provides basic company facts on over 20 million North American companies and over 70 million global companies. Mergent Intellect provides essentially the same information as Hoovers Online using data from Hoovers and Dun and Bradstreet but with additional downloading capabilities not available through Hoovers Online.

EDGAR Company Filings
EDGAR is the U.S. repository for public companies required to file forms with the SEC. The forms in this database will contain information about the companies progress and its future plans. Searchable by company name or ticker number.

Industry codes are a way to help classify industries into categories to group similar firms and companies together. Using an industry code to search will help ensure that you are actually looking at companies that are in similar lines of business.

There are several industry code systems, but the one that is most likely to be useful to you is the North American Industry Classification System, or NAICS.

NAICS Code Search
Provided by the U.S. Census Bureau, you can use this site to search using a specific code, or use the "Reference Files" tab to browse the full list of NAICS codes by sector.

When searching using an industry code, the more digits you use, the more specific your search will be. We recommend starting your search with only 4-5 of the numbers.

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect not only provides company facts, it also gives access to industry analysis via their First Research tool. To access this, scrolls down from the homepage to the icons under the search bar and click on the one titled, "First Research". You will need create an account by entering your email address the first time you access this resource.
Business Source Complete
This is IIT's largest business-subject database. It provides full-text coverage of more than 2,200 scholarly business, management and economics journals. More than 10,150 substantial company profiles from MarketLine are also included, as well as case studies, SWOT analyses, Market research reports.

News Sources

Wall Street Journal
Access all WSJ content online from the Dow Jones website in the original online layout. Online coverage of the popular business newspaper, including analysis tools and news from the past four years.

Note: Create an account here
Regional Business News
This database provides full text coverage for regional business publications in metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Yahoo Finance - Business Finance, Stock Market, Quotes, News
A good source of information from Yahoo.

Other Company & Industry Resources

MarketLine/Medtrack Company Profiles
Detailed company information, including company history, key employees, top competitors and SWOT analysis.
MarketResearch.com Academic
Provides market intelligence on consumer demographics, market size and growth trends, industry forces and structure, product trends, competitive environment analysis, and company profiles.