Illinois Institute of Technology My IIT

Admin Sign In 

Business & Economics  Tags: business databases economics marketing advertising databases stocks finance investments statistics entrepreneurship company companies industry management  

A guide to business subject resources, including: marketing, economics, company research, statistics, and stocks.
Last update: Nov 06th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.iit.edu/business  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home Page            Print Page
  
 

Welcome!

This is the main page of research guide for business subjects. On this page, you will find a list of all business-specific databases, as well as tools for searching for books and journals available at IIT.

The other tabs in this guide are specific to a particular discipline (such as marketing) or type of research (such as stocks & investments). Those tabs till include databases, books, and websites that are pertinent to that particular topic.

 

Search the IIT Library Catalog

Use this search box to find books, e-books, DVDs and anything else kept inside the IIT Libraries.

by
Advanced Search | How to Find Books
 

Library News

Check out the latest Galvin Library news from our blog.


Loading RSS Feed...
 
 

Search for a Journal

To find out if the library has access to a journal either electronically or in print, type all or part of the journal title in the box below.  To search for journals by subject area, click the By Subject tab.

All Business-Related Electronic Resources

The following is a list of all electronic resources that are relevant to business topics. The other tabs in this guide list only resources that are relevant to that topic. (Access to electronic resources listed is limited to IIT students, faculty and staff.)

For a list of all databases for all subjects, click here.

  • *** SRDS Local Market Audience Analysis (new)  
      
    Details consumer behavior and market potential via demographic, segmentation, and targeting information. NOTE: This site only works with Internet Explorer.
  • Business & Company Resource Center (Gale)  
      
    A great database for starting business research. Find detailed public company profiles (including parent/sibling relationships), industry rankings, investment reports, industry statistics, and financial ratios. Find thousands of articles covering current and historical business news. Search by company name, ticker symbol, industry, or keyword. Information about private and international companies is also available. Use the BCRC for career research.
  • Business Insights  
      
    Business Insights works in association with leading industry experts, to produce a range of market reports across a wide range of industry sectors.
  • Business Source Premier  
      
    Full text for more than 2,300 journals, including more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
  • Company Profiles and Dossiers from LexisNexus  
    View detailed company information and news reports through this search interface. You can also create a list of companies within a specific field and/or geographic location. Includes data from Hoovers, Nelson, and Standard & Poor's.
  • Datamonitor Company Profiles  
      
    Thousands of national and international company profiles have been created by DataMonitor. Reports include an overview, employee biographies and competitor information.
  • EBSCO Research Starters for Business  
      
    Provides a concise but thorough overview of business topics. To use, click the link and enter your search term(s) on the second line of the Advanced Search page (leave the "Research Starters Business" entry in the first line.
  • EconLit  
      
    Covers all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations and monetary theory.
  • Emporis  
      
    “Emporis is the world's largest publicly available database on architectural and building data for buildings 12 stories or higher. News, photographs, renderings, and firm data are available from more than 50,000 cities worldwide. news and information about developments in architecture, engineering, construction, and real estate.”
  • Financial Times of London  
      
    An excellent source of global economic information. Available through the LexisNexis Academic Universe database.
  • GreenFILE  
      
    "This multi-disciplinary database includes articles on climate change, green building, renewable energy, recycling, and many other topics."
  • LexisNexis Academic Universe  
      
    Full-text documents from over 5,900 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Also includes U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information.
  • MarketResearch.com  
      
    Provides market intelligence on consumer demographics, market size and growth trends, industry forces and structure, product trends, competitive environment analysis, and company profiles.
  • Mergent Online  
      
    Provides info on U.S. and international companies; daily updates from NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq exchanges; industry and executive biographies.
  • New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics  
      
    British Economist R. H. Inglis Palgrave was the original author of this dictionary, as well as an early editor of The Economist. This updated version includes classic and evolving economic theories written by noted economists of differing methodologies.
  • NewsBank - America's Newspapers  
      
    Electronic editions of over 700 valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers and magazines. Includes The New York Times and The Washington Post.
  • Newspaper Source  
      
    Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national (U.S.) & international newspapers.
  • Regional Business News  
      
    Regional Business News covers 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Full-text is available for many publications.
  • SAGE eReference for Business & Management  
      
    A collection of specialized encyclopedias on business topics such as ethics, leadership and organizational studies.
  • SAGE Journals Online  
      
    A collection of over 450 online, peer-reviewed journals and other scholarly content in many disciplines including Management & Organization Studies, Communication Studies, Psychology and Sociology. Full-text available from 1999-prese
  • SEC Filings from LexisNexis  
      
    Quickly find all recent forms filed with the Securities and Exchange commission.
  • Stat-USA  
      
    Access federal business, trade and economic information made available through the U.S. Department of Commerce. Note: Available only at the Galvin Library. Please see a librarian at the Reference Desk for username and password.
  • State and County QuickFacts  
      
    This site offers efficient access to facts about people, business, and geography from the U.S Census.
  • USA Trade Online  
      
    The Foreign Trade Division of the U.S. Census Bureau and STAT-USA compile accurate and timely U.S. Merchandise Trade data, providing export and import information on more than 18,000 commodities worldwide. Note: only available at the Galvin Library.
  • Wall Street Journal  
      
    Online coverage of the popular business newspaper, from 1984-present.
  • Historical Statistics of the United States  
      
    "... on online database of statistics, tables, charts, and other quantitative data covering the history of the United States. Census data from 1790 to 2000 is the source for the data."
 
 

Questions?

Contact the Galvin Business Librarian:

Christine McClure
(312) 567-3374
cmcclur1@iit.edu

Use Instant Message! You can ask Galvin staff basic research questions from home or work. Use the handy widget on this page.

Available whenever the library is open (Library hours).

---

 

Do-it-yourself Help Online

Galvin Library provides PDF and video guides that answer many common questions about using the library.  We add new guides frequently, so check back often!

Go to the How-to Guides page to get expert help on your own.

 

© 2008 Paul V. Galvin Library   35 W. 33rd Street  Chicago, IL 60616
Phone: 312.567.3616   Fax: 312.567.5318   Email: library@iit.edu
Comments & Suggestions || Site Index || Site Search

Description

  Loading content... please wait